How do you reset the pcm - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

     
Old 08-06-2015, 03:53 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
 
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Electrical System
Print Wikipost

How do you reset the pcm

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:23 PM
mcss8541's Avatar
mcss8541
mcss8541 is offline
All Star
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: EL CAMPO, TX
Posts: 946
Question How do you reset the pcm

I keep reading that you should reset your pcm after you change certain parts. 2 questions 1) what parts and 2) how do you reset it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:42 PM
96RamSLT
96RamSLT is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wernersville, PA
Posts: 314
Default

i believe your referring to..
1. disconnect neg terminal on batt
2. turn key to start hold for 30 seconds
3. reconnect neg terminal on batt

basically it resets every light (cels) that are drawing power from the batt.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:52 PM
mcss8541's Avatar
mcss8541
mcss8541 is offline
All Star
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: EL CAMPO, TX
Posts: 946
Default

Oh hell I thought it was scientific procedure or something. I kept reading in these threads where you are supposed to reset your computer when changing out certain parts. I have an OBD-II Scan tool that I use to read the CEL codes and erase them with. Thanks anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2009, 10:38 PM
nathangfnd
nathangfnd is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 732
Default

can anything happen if you do this... like something bad???
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:38 AM
TMS Bill's Avatar
TMS Bill
TMS Bill is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Warren, NJ
Posts: 2,400
Default

It doesn't reset the CEL or codes ... it dumps the learned behavoir in the PCM that is no longer valid due to altered configuration (changed parts). The computer is reset to a default factory configuration and it will relearn how you drive over a few days or so.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:01 AM
mcss8541's Avatar
mcss8541
mcss8541 is offline
All Star
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: EL CAMPO, TX
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMS Bill View Post
It doesn't reset the CEL or codes ... it dumps the learned behavoir in the PCM that is no longer valid due to altered configuration (changed parts). The computer is reset to a default factory configuration and it will relearn how you drive over a few days or so.
OH! OK! So after what parts should one do this?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:03 AM
Viper37
Viper37 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Communist Puppet State of Mexifornia
Posts: 1,031
Default

Disconnect the battery and turn the key to crank. It will take less than a millisecond for all the energy to dissipate from the system. By the time you get back to the battery, all the caps will have discharged and it will be clear.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:05 AM
mcss8541's Avatar
mcss8541
mcss8541 is offline
All Star
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: EL CAMPO, TX
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper37 View Post
Disconnect the battery and turn the key to crank. It will take less than a millisecond for all the energy to dissipate from the system. By the time you get back to the battery, all the caps will have discharged and it will be clear.
So I'm not actually holding the key all the way forward as if I'm starting the vehicle just forward to where if the battery was connected it would light up the dash?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:07 AM
mcss8541's Avatar
mcss8541
mcss8541 is offline
All Star
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: EL CAMPO, TX
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper37 View Post
Disconnect the battery and turn the key to crank. It will take less than a millisecond for all the energy to dissipate from the system. By the time you get back to the battery, all the caps will have discharged and it will be clear.
Can someone tell me after what particular parts should I reset the pcm?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:18 AM
Viper37
Viper37 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Communist Puppet State of Mexifornia
Posts: 1,031
Default

Turn it to crank for fastest effect.

Anytime you do an air filter, change engine parts or something like that you reset the PCM.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
drewus
2nd Gen Durango
3
12-01-2015 01:27 AM
midnightdweller1
Dodge Stratus
2
10-11-2015 08:24 PM
Dickie
Dodge/Ram Diesel
1
09-25-2015 12:58 AM
jamesheds
3rd Gen Dakota
2
09-21-2015 10:34 PM
midnightdweller1
Dodge Stratus
4
09-16-2015 09:55 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:56 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send