Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

miss firing, back firing, cutting out! help!!

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-04-2009, 07:23 PM
jeff2323 jeff2323 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Default miss firing, back firing, cutting out! help!!

soo my truck started miss firing so bad the other day that i had to get it towed home. i replaced the plugs and wires and the check engine light went off and it stoped miss firing but now it back fires and smelt like sulfur and has no power?!?! so i cut out the cat thinking it was so clogged that it made it so i had no power but it still back fires and has no power?!?!

someone please help i dont know what to do at this point?
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2009, 06:55 AM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Registered User
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Try replacing the coil, they are not expensive. If it doesn't help, you'll have an extra one for future troubleshooting . And btw, some more info would be helpful. Like does it do it all the time or just when cold or just when hot?
__________________
2000 2500HD 4X4 5.9 and 4:10's,HF tuned SCT,Red-Head gear box, HS 1.7's,
50mm Fastman TB, Hughes Plate,2" Hell Bent ,Volant CAI
Flowmaster 50 series, Rock Solid Ram Steering fix,B&M trans cooler,fuzzy dice good for 5HP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2009, 02:46 PM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Quad Cab
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,253
Default

If you haven't replaced your front O2 sensor, you might want to try that to. Pretty cheap thing to get, easy labor you can do yourself. My advice is to avoid Bosch. Just tried to hook up one of their sensors, the cable was 1/2" to short to plug into where it was supposed to. I double checked the part #, its right.

So I cut wires off the old sensor, cut the plug off the new one, and wired it to make it long enough. There are two white wires, not sure if it matters which one attaches to which plug terminal, but I tried both ways, didn't matter. Truck bogs down when I try to accelerate shortly after I start it, misses at low or high speed, and so on until its running for a while and then comes out of it. If I turn it off, same thing all over again next time I start it.

O'Reillys, my normal part store, just has Bosch and nothing else for O2 sensors. So I went to an independent local auto parts store, they had NTK (same company as NGK) sensors, which I've heard good things about. They don't have it in house, but at the warehouse. So I drive three or four miles to the opposite end of town in Saturday traffic with a misbehaving truck, get the part from the warehouse, go home. Attempt to install it later that night... they gave me the wrong sensor. They gave me one for a California emissions truck. *sigh* Plug doesn't fit.

So I will have to wait until Monday to do the exchange, and with my luck, they won't have the one I need on hand. Why have none of the 49-state sensor and lots of the Cali type in South Dakota, I don't know, but like I said, that'd be my luck.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2009, 04:15 PM
jeff2323 jeff2323 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Default

it does it all the time the truck is not drivable!!

it has no cat right now it is basically open header because i cut the cat out
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2009, 07:21 PM
wjxavier's Avatar
wjxavier wjxavier is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,135
Send a message via AIM to wjxavier
Default

lol that sucks. anyway, it still runs right? just runs extremely rough?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2009, 07:29 PM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Quad Cab
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,253
Default

Front O2 sensor, coil, TPS. Those are the things I'd check. The coil or front O2 sensor should be first, IMO, the TPS last, to be checked/replaced.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2009, 07:38 PM
BigRedRam95's Avatar
BigRedRam95 BigRedRam95 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 95 dodge ram 1500
Location: WV
Posts: 1,317
Default

you might check the injectors that is what my truck did when my injectors went bad
__________________
1995 ram 1500 (5.2/318)AEM cold air intake,25% underdride pulleys,Chevy 1ton rear wheel cylinders upgrade,4.10 gears,Mopar R/T heads,180 stat,front leveling kit,costom front bumper,Blue led lights in dash cluster,10000k Hid headlights.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:31 AM
dakotas ram's Avatar
dakotas ram dakotas ram is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Vehicle: 95 ram
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 3,428
Default

reroute plug wires?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:31 AM
jeff2323 jeff2323 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Default

replaced tho coil and nothing changed.

it has no cat therefor it has no front O2 sensor... could that be the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:44 AM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Quad Cab
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,253
Default

What year is it? If its before 1998, the O2 goes into the cat. If its 1998 or newer, the O2 sensor should go before where the cat went.

If it has no O2 sensor, yes, that could very well cause this problem. The computer would have no idea which way to mix the air/fuel together.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:49 AM
jeff2323 jeff2323 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Default

its a 98 and the o2 sensor was in the cat
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:54 AM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Quad Cab
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,253
Default

1998 was the year they changed it IIRC, some 1998s have the older style, some have the newer style. So you got one of the older style exhausts. Not a big deal.

You need to put a hole in your pipe some place shortly after the manifolds and thread in an O2 sensor that can plug into the connector that went to the original "in cat" O2 sensor. Or have a exhaust shop do it for you.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-06-2009, 07:15 PM
wjxavier's Avatar
wjxavier wjxavier is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,135
Send a message via AIM to wjxavier
Default

i dont know if that will work or not though...because the o2 sensors that are in the cat take readings from both exhaust pipes...not just one. idk if it would make a difference though. i was curious about it myself.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-06-2009, 07:50 PM
TMS Bill's Avatar
TMS Bill TMS Bill is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle: 07 2500 5.9L CTD 4x4
Location: Warren, NJ
Posts: 2,400
Default

The 2nd (downstream) sensor provides data that the PCM uses to determine that the cat is working properly. This is the one that would get replaced with a simulator if you started seeing CEL's. The upstream sensor is what tells the PCM how to feed gas to the engine.
__________________

Silver Truck Club member #26
98 1500 4x4 SLT Laramie Quad
5.9L Auto 3.55 LSD 285/75R16 BFG AT T/A KO DT PROFAB Adjustable Trac Bar MP PCM Crossdrilled/slotted rotors GM 1-ton brake mod
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-07-2009, 09:09 AM
wjxavier's Avatar
wjxavier wjxavier is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,135
Send a message via AIM to wjxavier
Default

idk, my truck doesnt even have a downstream sensor...doesnt have a simulator either, to my knowledge. no codes or anything. weird...but regardless, he's having trouble with the truck running, so i would imagine that would be his upstream sensor...and if he has a cat like i do, the sensor pulls readings from both pipes at the same time right before the cat. if he just goes and puts it in a random spot on ONE pipe, then won't it screw the readings up?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-07-2009, 11:13 AM
TMS Bill's Avatar
TMS Bill TMS Bill is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle: 07 2500 5.9L CTD 4x4
Location: Warren, NJ
Posts: 2,400
Default

Some trucks don't throw a code even after gutting the cat so it's a random thing. In order for the computer to get an accurate picture of what's going on, the sensor has to sample all cylinders.
__________________

Silver Truck Club member #26
98 1500 4x4 SLT Laramie Quad
5.9L Auto 3.55 LSD 285/75R16 BFG AT T/A KO DT PROFAB Adjustable Trac Bar MP PCM Crossdrilled/slotted rotors GM 1-ton brake mod
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-08-2009, 08:40 PM
jeff2323 jeff2323 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Default

so im bringing it to the shop tomorrow to have a cat welded in.. i talked to the guy and hes doesnt think its the cat he said he thinks it could be something with the fuel system or compression..

any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-09-2009, 03:54 AM
wjxavier's Avatar
wjxavier wjxavier is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,135
Send a message via AIM to wjxavier
Default

it could be something with the fuel system...bad fuel pump maybe...but unless your compression is EXTREMELY low, like at 80-90...it wouldn't be compression. so i dont think you have to worry about that. just get a compression test and ask to see the results and post them here...dont let him jack you around. i've had it done to me and i didnt have it. i fixed it myself lol.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-09-2009, 04:00 AM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Quad Cab
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff2323 View Post
so im bringing it to the shop tomorrow to have a cat welded in.. i talked to the guy and hes doesnt think its the cat he said he thinks it could be something with the fuel system or compression..

any thoughts?
If you don't have an upstream O2 sensor, I can guarantee its part of your problem, at the least. Might not be the whole problem, but at the very least its part of it. The computer needs that sensor to adjust the fuel/air ratio properly. If a cat and O2 sensor are welded in (or at least just an O2 sensor), that should at least fix some of your problems.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-27-2009, 11:41 PM
jeff2323 jeff2323 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Default

sooo 800 dollars later...

it just ended up being water in the fuel!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 11:41 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Tags
02, accelerating, backfiring, cats, cuts, cutting, dodge, firing, intrepid, low, miss, part, reasons, speed, time, truck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails