2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

new truck???

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2010, 08:02 PM
flanders993
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new truck???

hey so im new to DF but ive always been a dodge guy. so i want an oppinion. im tryin to get a new full size dodge but my wallets a little short. if you know what i mean. lol. so i found one, a 01 with the 5.9l v8 it looks great. has the typical new england rust but one problem. 265k miles. and the history of the truck is unknown. (the guy bought it from an auto action). i talked him down to 1200 for the truck. but i was just lookin for another few opinions about the milage issue. thanks =)

Old 05-25-2010, 08:07 PM
dodgeram07
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well just drive it make sure it's got good oil psi and trans shifts good and the child don't smell burnt.... The plumen gasket is blow if org and it may have the death fash but if it runs good I don't see a problem

Old 05-25-2010, 08:12 PM
flanders993

k thanks. i mean. i know somewhat what im lookin for. ive been turnin a wrench for awhile but i dont have the old school knowledge if u get wat im sayin. plus im only 19. cant realy afford a messed up truck. lol.

Old 05-25-2010, 08:12 PM
lastrights
Grand Champion
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

ya if it ran that long with the death flash the motor still good, because it wasnt worked to its full potensal. 01 is the are not the best year from what i hear but if it has that many miles im sure alot of things been fixed.

i would look up the vin see where its been and what not

Old 05-28-2010, 03:04 AM
flanders993