Read trouble codes without code reader? - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Read trouble codes without code reader?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-26-2009, 07:21 AM
Maxx_Magnum's Avatar
Maxx_Magnum Maxx_Magnum is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 98 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,222
Default Read trouble codes without code reader?

My buddy, who is a member here, discovered yesterday that he can get the codes off his 01 2500 without using a reader/scanner. Cycle key off and on 3 times and it shows the codes in the odometer display. I find this very cool and useful, kinda like the old obd1 where ya could use a paperclip to make it flash the codes out on the CEL. Never knew it could be done like this til now.

Problem is, it doesn't work with my 98
Is there another way or some other sequence to do this with my truck?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:16 AM
dodge15004x45.9's Avatar
dodge15004x45.9 dodge15004x45.9 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Vehicle: 05 CTD 4x4 quad cab short bed
Location: Malvern Pa - Canadensis Pa
Posts: 7,950
Default

Do you have a digital trip/miles?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:40 AM
Maxx_Magnum's Avatar
Maxx_Magnum Maxx_Magnum is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 98 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,222
Default

no, but I have a digital trip/KILOMETERS display lol....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2009, 11:10 AM
BigRedRam95's Avatar
BigRedRam95 BigRedRam95 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 95 dodge ram 1500
Location: WV
Posts: 1,328
Default

That is how I read codes on my 95
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2009, 11:55 AM
Maxx_Magnum's Avatar
Maxx_Magnum Maxx_Magnum is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 98 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedRam95 View Post
That is how I read codes on my 95
what do you do? just the 3 on/off cycles or something different? I'm goin out now to play around with it.... if you can do it on your 95 and he can do it on his 01, surely I can do it smack dab in the middle......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2009, 12:42 PM
BigRedRam95's Avatar
BigRedRam95 BigRedRam95 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 95 dodge ram 1500
Location: WV
Posts: 1,328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxx_Magnum View Post
what do you do? just the 3 on/off cycles or something different? I'm goin out now to play around with it.... if you can do it on your 95 and he can do it on his 01, surely I can do it smack dab in the middle......
I just cycle the ignition on/off 3 times
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2009, 07:17 PM
Maxx_Magnum's Avatar
Maxx_Magnum Maxx_Magnum is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 98 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,222
Default

I tried everything I could but nothing... But here's the thing... My check engine light is not actually on right now, it comes and goes ever since I got the truck. I figured it would have trouble codes stored in the computer. Does it do anything at all if the CEL isn't currently on? I kinda hope it comes back on soon, I am curious as hell to see if this works, and I've been wanting to know why its coming on in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2009, 07:58 PM
BigRedRam95's Avatar
BigRedRam95 BigRedRam95 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 95 dodge ram 1500
Location: WV
Posts: 1,328
Default

I can do it to mine even if the light is not on.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:34 PM
Maxx_Magnum's Avatar
Maxx_Magnum Maxx_Magnum is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Vehicle: 98 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,222
Default

well thats strange then..... anyone with a 98 that can confirm this works? I imagine it should...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-04-2010, 06:41 PM
AzKiKKer AzKiKKer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

My 98 CEL is on but when i do the on-off it runs a diagnostic of the instrument panel. Gauges move, odometer checks it's LED, panel lights come on but no code(s) show up. My engine runs rough and misses.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2002 Cummins battery issue!! HELP! kmbaseball7 Dodge/Ram Diesel 3 07-30-2015 06:45 PM
Getting the P0601 code on our 2001 Dodge Stratus SE Sedan Stratus0159 Dodge Stratus 2 07-16-2015 11:22 PM
46re transmission eagle101 2nd Gen Ram Tech 2 07-12-2015 11:43 AM
Brake light and abs kick on an off learningauto 1st Gen Durango 3 07-10-2015 06:24 PM
[General]: no idle on 2004 3.3L type R V6 ydde1937 Dodge Caravan 0 07-06-2015 10:00 PM


Tags
06, 1500, 1998, 98, code, codes, computer, displaying, dodge, engine, fault, ram, read, reader, reading, truck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 AM.