Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

P0601 code ecm

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:23 PM
Mic Wrath Mic Wrath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2001 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.9
Location: nebraska
Posts: 7
Unhappy P0601 code ecm

Hello, I'm new to this hole forum thing. I have a 2001 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.9 and I just had my egine light turn on. I got the code P0601. I took it to Tuffys and they said it will be $1031 to fix! They said they need to replace my ecm. I looked online and found some to buy. My dad has some mecanical experince and he said we can do it ourselves. Is it easy to install a new ecm? I know that you can get it programed by ussing your vin and millage, but I don't want to run the rick of messing up my truck more than it is. The funny thing in runs just fine. I haven't felt any loss or hickups at all. Tuffy said that I was lucky it is still running. Please help a poor man make the right decession. I had to edit this. I was wrong about the code. It shows its a pcm error. Is this easy to fix? Am I getting rip off?
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!

Last edited by Mic Wrath; 08-26-2009 at 12:20 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:33 AM
lghtngblt02's Avatar
lghtngblt02 lghtngblt02 is offline
The DAK Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2014 RAM Sport 4x4
Location: Lemoyne, Pennsylvania
Posts: 9,565
Billy lghtngblt02 lghtngblt02
Send a message via AIM to lghtngblt02 Send a message via Yahoo to lghtngblt02
Default

Welcome to DF Mic! I am a little unfamiliar with the 01 Rams but I will move this over to the appropriate section for ya so you can get better input. Thanks for joining and good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:45 AM
speeddemon31176's Avatar
speeddemon31176 speeddemon31176 is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 97 RAM 1500 club cab 4x4
Location: Carbondale,PA
Posts: 754
Default

Bud a trained monkey can replace the ecm in our trucks. Disconnect the battery, then unplug the plugs on the ecm, then unbolt it from the firewall. bolt in new one, plug in plugs, reconnect battery. It is located on the passenger side of the firewall. A grand to fix eh. Another instance of gross ignorance on the part of another dishonest repair facility. It should be legal to shoot people who operate like this.
__________________
1997 1500 4x4 club cab, Flowmaster true duals 2.25" with high flow cats, 4" Skyjacker susp./3" body, Cowl Induction hood-non-op.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:54 AM
Mic Wrath Mic Wrath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2001 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.9
Location: nebraska
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you so much! Just to make sure the PCM is located right next to the ECM right? The code shows it as a PCM problem not an ECM. I'm just getting into the fix it yourself thing and I don't know my to much about this stuff. Again thanks for all your help!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:06 AM
speeddemon31176's Avatar
speeddemon31176 speeddemon31176 is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 97 RAM 1500 club cab 4x4
Location: Carbondale,PA
Posts: 754
Default

PCM/ECM is the same thing just two different names that are used for them. Easy fix. feel free to ask questioned is you manage to get stuck changing it. Junk yard part is much cheaper and a in great quantity. A u pull it yard usually sells them for about 25 bucks. Atleast my local place does. Takes just a couple of minutes to take off. Should be 8mm or 5/16 bolts that hold it on. 4 of them by the way.
__________________
1997 1500 4x4 club cab, Flowmaster true duals 2.25" with high flow cats, 4" Skyjacker susp./3" body, Cowl Induction hood-non-op.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:20 AM
Mic Wrath Mic Wrath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2001 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.9
Location: nebraska
Posts: 7
Default

You are the man! Thanks for your help. One last question, if you got the time. If I get one from a junk yard don't I have to reprogram it to work my truck. The reason I ask is that the online web sites require you to give them your vin and miliage so that they can program the ECM before they send it to you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:30 AM
speeddemon31176's Avatar
speeddemon31176 speeddemon31176 is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 97 RAM 1500 club cab 4x4
Location: Carbondale,PA
Posts: 754
Default

Horse s**t. The only thing you need to watch for is that you get one that has the correct plug setup on it and that it is for either manual or automatic transmission depending on what you have. All the computer does is control engine management and transmission shift patterns. What would knowing your vin and mileage do. Answer:nothing. ask any time man.
__________________
1997 1500 4x4 club cab, Flowmaster true duals 2.25" with high flow cats, 4" Skyjacker susp./3" body, Cowl Induction hood-non-op.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:46 AM
Mic Wrath Mic Wrath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2001 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.9
Location: nebraska
Posts: 7
Default

Wow! From $1000 to 25 bucks! I wish I could of met up with you sooner! I can't thank you enough. I will be sure to write to you in a day or two to let you know if the change out worked. I'm going to the junk yard tommorrow to get one. The fix sounds so easy too. Wow I'm pi$$ off at Tuffy! The are trying to make a living, but man they were about to rip me off! Thanks for the save and you will be hearing from me soon with good news.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:50 AM
speeddemon31176's Avatar
speeddemon31176 speeddemon31176 is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 97 RAM 1500 club cab 4x4
Location: Carbondale,PA
Posts: 754
Default

No problem man. That is why we are all here to help each other out and to prevent places like that from ripping us off. One of the other guys was just asking about his tranny in another thread and the place he went to wants to charge him 3000 to change the pump in the front of his tranny. It is a 200 dollar part and they are trying to get 2800 in labor for a 6 hour job if they take their sweet time.
__________________
1997 1500 4x4 club cab, Flowmaster true duals 2.25" with high flow cats, 4" Skyjacker susp./3" body, Cowl Induction hood-non-op.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-26-2009, 04:17 AM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Quad Cab
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,253
Default

If you ever plan on reselling it, you should take it to a dealer at some point and get your "new" PCM programmed with the correct mileage and VIN of the old PCM. Its obviously a little more expensive, but that way its legal to resell without any claims later about falsifying a VIN and/or mileage.

Like speeddemon said, just make sure its the same engine and transmission as the one you have, and the same (or very close) model year.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-26-2009, 10:52 AM
pcfixerpro pcfixerpro is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Vehicle: 01 Ram 4x4
Posts: 2,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speeddemon31176 View Post
Horse s**t. The only thing you need to watch for is that you get one that has the correct plug setup on it and that it is for either manual or automatic transmission depending on what you have. All the computer does is control engine management and transmission shift patterns. What would knowing your vin and mileage do. Answer:nothing. ask any time man.
No, its not horse****. Good luck passing PA inspection if you ever try to pull that. When the hook the computer up to it and compair the vin's... it won't pass. OP, also take into account what jasonw said. Oh, one more thing speeddemon, the pcm does not control shift patterns, only torque converter lockup.

I am actually in the same boat as you OP. I currently have the 0601 code too and have been researching computers for a couple weeks. I plan on buying a rebuilt computer from napa and installing provided my buddy can still hook me up when I get back home labor day weekend. I wouldn't be pissed off at that shop btw because odds are they called dodge for a pcm. When I called dodge for a quote to do it myself, it was $728 with a discount I believe so 1000 sounds about right because you are going to pay list price for the pcm + install + shop rape fee. Also after reading more about the code itself, it turns out it is fairly common to happen in dodge pcms, so while you may be saving a buck to get a used one, it may turn around and do the same thing again next week. One final thing is, the truck will continue to run even with the code. I have been running with mine for a solid three weeks now with no issues. The entire pcm did not fail, but rather a small part isn't communicating so I assume it is using the default value the pcms are programed with for whatever is failing. I don't know how inspection works in Nebraska (if you need it every year like PA) but if you dont need inspection, you will be fine to run the truck like it is for now. Oh, lets also not forget about the possibility of the 'No Bus" issue even if you do get a used pcm out of a junkyard. You need to find an identical truck pretty much. Not just correct plugs and trans setup as speeddemon said. But there is a little bit more to it than that. Correct plugs on pcm won't matter because your looking for a specific year pcm (your year ... 2001). Engine size matters (5.2 vs 5.9), trans, are you 4x4? etc. Lots of things to consider. The dealership might be able to reprogram for you these specifics, but do not quote me on that. Like I said I am going to take the guess work out of it and order a rebuilt one that has my info programed into it. Wish you luck!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-26-2009, 06:06 PM
Mic Wrath Mic Wrath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2001 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.9
Location: nebraska
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for all the advice. I bought a rebuilt and reprogrammed ecm from http://www.autocomputerexchange.com/Product/156. With shiping air the total cost will be $300. They program it by your vin, milage and your old ecm part number. It will get here in 1-2 days. I will let you all know if it works. Thanks again for all you input and I'll let you all know how it turns out. Wish me luck.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-26-2009, 08:02 PM
Ram_Me's Avatar
Ram_Me Ram_Me is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 4X4
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 615
Default

Wait. It said it will include the latest updates from Chrysler. Does that mean he'll have the death flash?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-26-2009, 08:26 PM
pcfixerpro pcfixerpro is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Vehicle: 01 Ram 4x4
Posts: 2,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ram_Me View Post
Wait. It said it will include the latest updates from Chrysler. Does that mean he'll have the death flash?
He has an 01, he'd have it anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-26-2009, 08:54 PM
speeddemon31176's Avatar
speeddemon31176 speeddemon31176 is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 97 RAM 1500 club cab 4x4
Location: Carbondale,PA
Posts: 754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcfixerpro View Post
No, its not horse****. Good luck passing PA inspection if you ever try to pull that. When the hook the computer up to it and compair the vin's... it won't pass. OP, also take into account what jasonw said. Oh, one more thing speeddemon, the pcm does not control shift patterns, only torque converter lockup.

I am actually in the same boat as you OP. I currently have the 0601 code too and have been researching computers for a couple weeks. I plan on buying a rebuilt computer from napa and installing provided my buddy can still hook me up when I get back home labor day weekend. I wouldn't be pissed off at that shop btw because odds are they called dodge for a pcm. When I called dodge for a quote to do it myself, it was $728 with a discount I believe so 1000 sounds about right because you are going to pay list price for the pcm + install + shop rape fee. Also after reading more about the code itself, it turns out it is fairly common to happen in dodge pcms, so while you may be saving a buck to get a used one, it may turn around and do the same thing again next week. One final thing is, the truck will continue to run even with the code. I have been running with mine for a solid three weeks now with no issues. The entire pcm did not fail, but rather a small part isn't communicating so I assume it is using the default value the pcms are programed with for whatever is failing. I don't know how inspection works in Nebraska (if you need it every year like PA) but if you dont need inspection, you will be fine to run the truck like it is for now. Oh, lets also not forget about the possibility of the 'No Bus" issue even if you do get a used pcm out of a junkyard. You need to find an identical truck pretty much. Not just correct plugs and trans setup as speeddemon said. But there is a little bit more to it than that. Correct plugs on pcm won't matter because your looking for a specific year pcm (your year ... 2001). Engine size matters (5.2 vs 5.9), trans, are you 4x4? etc. Lots of things to consider. The dealership might be able to reprogram for you these specifics, but do not quote me on that. Like I said I am going to take the guess work out of it and order a rebuilt one that has my info programed into it. Wish you luck!

What part of a PA inspection involves hooking up to your OBD II port and verifying that the computer is programmed with the vin and mileage? I have never done that to any vehicle for an inspection and I have never seen it done. You do your visual inspection for safety and a visual for emissions and test the gas cap. Where do you live in PA that they changed the rules? When I stated that he only needs to find one that matches up to his vehicle per engine and trans. I would have to assume that if he has 4x4 that he would correlate the same with that as well. Perhaps I over estimated his abilities, but I don't go around assuming anyone is an idiot nor do I try to demean anyone while discussing their issues. The only reason a shop would call Dodge for that part is if they were trying to burn him on the price of the job. It would be more advantageous of them, while still dirty dealing, to get a new ECM/PCM from a parts store and charge him for a dodge unit. My apologies for misquoting that the ECM/PCM controls shift patterns. You are correct in that it controls convertor lock up.
__________________
1997 1500 4x4 club cab, Flowmaster true duals 2.25" with high flow cats, 4" Skyjacker susp./3" body, Cowl Induction hood-non-op.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-26-2009, 10:01 PM
dodgeboy7's Avatar
dodgeboy7 dodgeboy7 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 97 Ram 1500 4x4
Location: West Grove, Pa
Posts: 317
Send a message via AIM to dodgeboy7
Default

In some towns in pa emissons dont have to be done. Dont know why i think it got something to do with how many people live in the town. I use to work in a loc shop and Pa makes you hook all obo2 on a emissons system and it looks for stored codes and uncleared monitors and the first thing we do it take your registration and use the bar code and scan it that tells the emissions systems your vin your miles the last time you had it done (once a year). Your vin is stored in the pcm and when the emission system is hooked up to the truck it see they do match a fails right away. And pcprofixer is right 1000$ is not a bad price for a shop but yea it extremem easliy to do it your self and you save alot of money doing it. Your did the right thing but buying a reman one and had it programed. Hope that helps
__________________
2011 Outdoorsman, High output Cummins, 5in turbo back, Mini max, EGR and cooler delete
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-26-2009, 10:06 PM
speeddemon31176's Avatar
speeddemon31176 speeddemon31176 is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 97 RAM 1500 club cab 4x4
Location: Carbondale,PA
Posts: 754
Default

When did they start doing the OBD II hookup?
__________________
1997 1500 4x4 club cab, Flowmaster true duals 2.25" with high flow cats, 4" Skyjacker susp./3" body, Cowl Induction hood-non-op.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-27-2009, 01:02 AM
004x41500's Avatar
004x41500 004x41500 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2000 Ram 1500 4x4
Location: Sebastian, Fl.
Posts: 1,377
Send a message via AIM to 004x41500 Send a message via Skype™ to 004x41500
Default

also for future reference, if you do ever replace and pcm, match the part numbers.
and i believe the mileage and vin, are stored somewhere else in the truck. ive replaced one on a 01 ram 1500 4x4 5.9, and the mileage was the same, even though the truck it came from had more miles on it, than this one did.

or maybe i just got lucky. who knows, but it ran fine, and sold a week later.
yes i work at a car dealership. lol.
__________________


Ya, it wants to be a 6 cylinder...Cummins that is. CarDomain Leveling Kit DIY Install
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-10-2009, 04:54 PM
Mic Wrath Mic Wrath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2001 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.9
Location: nebraska
Posts: 7
Default It's Fixed!

I got the ECM in the mail and replaced the old one. It runs great! No check engine light, no death flash and it seems to have made it run smoother? Thanks for all the help and if this happens to anyone else, use this exsample and it will all work out.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-22-2009, 10:18 PM
lonwulfe lonwulfe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default Fixed it myself, saving over $600!!!

I have a 2002 Dodge Ram 1500 with similar problems. I used the information in this post and fixed it myself saving over $600 from the quote I was issued from the dealership. I used the same website to obtain my PCM for about $250 and even had it express mailed up here to Alaska and was back on the road in a matter of days.

Additional tips: Use a 6" extension with your ratchet to help reach the 5/16 bolts attaching the PCM to the firewall.
Also if you remove the Air Filter cover, you can give yourself a few more inches of room to work which made things much easier getting the PCM and my hands in there.

I have no mechanical background and I fixed this by myself in about 30 minutes.
Thanks again. I'll be sure to check back with dodge forum again if needed. This was a really helpful tool and saved me tons of cash!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 10:18 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Tags
01, 1500, 2001, 52l, caravan, code, dodge, ecm, error, fix, p0601, po601, program, ram, transmission, van

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails