Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Where is the temperature gauge sending unit on a 1999 5.9

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:11 PM
smf4702 smf4702 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 5.9
Location: Kansas
Posts: 6
Default Where is the temperature gauge sending unit on a 1999 5.9

I just had a rebuilt 1999 5.9 installed in my 1996 Dodge ram. When I picked it up, the dashboard temperature gauge was not functioning. I found a blank plastic connection near the thermostat housing and ran a wire from the connector to ground and confirmed that the blank connector is SUPPOSED to be connected to the temperature gauge sending unit. But I cannot find the sending unit (or sensor) to hook it to on the new motor. Temperature sensor (that talks to the computer) is right behind the alternator and adjacent to the thermostat housing, but there does not appear to be anywhere to hook the connector that operates the gauge itself......HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:27 PM
eaglestorm eaglestorm is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 228
Default

the 2 sensors are next to each other if you only have one it's not the correct manifold
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:37 PM
smf4702 smf4702 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 5.9
Location: Kansas
Posts: 6
Default

There is definitely only one sensor - and it is on the passenger side of the thermostat housing. Everything else seems to fuction just fine. Is the temperature gauge sensor the only problem I am likely to have if I have the "wrong intake?"

Another (stupid) thought - can I splice into the sensor that is on the intake and run my gauge off of that without keeping it from talking to the computer?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:49 PM
PurplDodge's Avatar
PurplDodge PurplDodge is offline
Legend
1999 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2005 Silverado LT 4x4 Crew Cab 5.3
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8,319
@nate_kent
Default

On the 1999 there was one water temperature sensor. In 1996 there was two. They were located near the thermostat housing. Just swap the intake from the 1996 motor onto the 1999 motor and change the plenum gasket while you're at it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:32 AM
smf4702 smf4702 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 5.9
Location: Kansas
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks, PD. That is not the best news I have had all day - as swapping the intake would have been a simple job while both engines were out of the truck: but at least I can quit looking for the temperature gauge sending unit now, since it does not exist!

Besides lacking the temperature sensor, will I run into any other problems if I leave the '99 intake on the engine in the short term?

That said, I don't want to drive a new motor very far without some indication of temperature - especially a Dodge. The way I see it, there are two possible temporary solutions until I have time to replace the intake (already gave the original back as a core - and have to find a new one and find a free weekend over the holidays!):

1) Install an aftermarket temperature gauge. Problem: Not sure where I would put the sending unit if the '99 intake wont accept it without drilling a hole (which would require pulling the intake in any event).

2) Tap into the existing temperature sending unit - and split off a wire to the gauge. Problem: Not sure if the signal sent from the existing temperature sensor will run the gauge, or if splitting the signal will impact the reading sent to the computer - the truck runs GREAT now, and I don't want to confuse the electronics.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:43 AM
smf4702 smf4702 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 5.9
Location: Kansas
Posts: 6
Default

Okay: three cups of coffee and I have another idea. Could I just purchase a temperature gauge sending unit for the 96, and replace a piece of radiator hose with a segment of metal tubing, tap the sensor into the metal segment, run a ground to the sensor, and hook the existing temperature gauge connection to that? If these ideas are getting worse - just let me know . . . I have a serious coffee habit....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2009, 02:47 PM
RedRigRon's Avatar
RedRigRon RedRigRon is offline
Rookie
1997 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Vehicle: 97 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smf4702 View Post
Okay: three cups of coffee and I have another idea. Could I just purchase a temperature gauge sending unit for the 96, and replace a piece of radiator hose with a segment of metal tubing, tap the sensor into the metal segment, run a ground to the sensor, and hook the existing temperature gauge connection to that? If these ideas are getting worse - just let me know . . . I have a serious coffee habit....
Putting it before the thermostat into the housing, hmmm not sure. you would think it should go some ware around/after the thermostat into the manifold.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2009, 03:10 PM
95RAM360's Avatar
95RAM360 95RAM360 is offline
Grand Champion
1995 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 95 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9 SLT Laramie 4x4
Location: MAINE
Posts: 5,581
Send a message via Yahoo to 95RAM360
Default

maybe drill a hole on the right side of the thermostat housing (on manifold) to fit it in?
__________________
1995 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT Laramie 4x4, US Wheels, Courser AT2 tires, Audio System, Rebuilt Transmission, 4.10 gears, Hughes Plenum, Kegger Mod, 8.5mm Spark wires, Bed Rails, Side Steps, Truck box, New Timing Chain, Hollow CAT, Cherry Bomb Turbo Muffler, New Harmonic Balancer, New Transfer Case
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2011, 12:56 AM
Army-Dodge21 Army-Dodge21 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default

I got same situation what did you do for this? and anyone got any ideas as to what to do?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-27-2011, 08:45 AM
Silver_Dodge's Avatar
Silver_Dodge Silver_Dodge is offline
Grand Champion
1999 Dodge Ram 1500
My Garage
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Vehicle: 09 Ram/08 Aspen/95 Swift
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,088
Default

You just need to drill/tap a hole into the intake manifold and put in the other sensor. As was mentioned above, prior to '98 or so, the intake manifolds had two sensors. One was for the computer, one was for the gauge. Even though in later years there was only one sensor, the spot for the other one is still there, it is just not drilled.
__________________
2009 Ram 1500, 4x4, Hemi
1999 Ram R.I.P. - April 2008 Truck of the Month / January 2012 Ride of the Month / Dodge Forum 2012 Truck of the Year
www.cardomain.com/ride/799288
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 08:45 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails