2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Can I use a hypetech tuner with a cold air intake?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2020, 05:10 PM
caleb marsee
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I use a hypetech tuner with a cold air intake?

Hi guys, so I am new to tuning and such. I found a new HyperTech Max Energy tuner on ebay for $200, and I pulled a cold air intake off of a spare parts ram I have. I am hoping to use both on my 1998 ram 2500 v8. I am wondering if i can use a tune from the hypertech to go with the cold air intake? When I'm in the programmer, the only options i really have is to adjust the tire height and install a regular gasoline tune. Will this be good to use with the cold air intake or will I need a tune specifically for that? Thanks!!

Old 08-23-2020, 05:54 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,176 Likes on 2,929 Posts

Cold air intake won't make any difference at all. The stock intake system is already a cold air system. (assuming it's all still there. ) The aftermarket feller will be louder, but, it won't give you any more power.

Old 08-24-2020, 12:24 AM
Ramman18
Champion
Received 108 Likes on 93 Posts

Yes, you can use it. But be prepared to use 89 or 91/93 octane cause she will pingalingaling.

Old 08-24-2020, 09:10 AM
caleb marsee
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Ramman18
Yes, you can use it. But be prepared to use 89 or 91/93 octane cause she will pingalingaling.
Would I need to use that grade for the aftermarket intake or for the tuner? Because the tune I programmed it to said "regular fuel". Is 87 not regular? Also, what does pingalingaling mean? Thanks for the help!

Old 08-24-2020, 09:14 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,176 Likes on 2,929 Posts