2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Valve Gasket /Rear Differential Leaks??

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2014, 05:35 PM
Bamabrat
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Valve Gasket /Rear Differential Leaks??

I didn't mean to out this in non tech. Please move to tech section.

As mentioned in my intro, I'm new at auto mechanic'ing so cut me some slack if you think this is a stupid question. I taught myself how to do everything on my bike, and trying to do same with autos.

Looks to me like both valve cover gaskets are leaking, but would like a second opinion. Facing truck, left side (pic 1) is way worse. Anything special I need to do when trying to replace both? Since pics won't upload, the right and left vlaves covers have a good amount of oil closest to the firewall. If not the gasket, what else could cause an oil leak right there? Would this cause the exhaust to smoke (whitish) and smell like oil?

Rear differential...can the rubber plug fail? Looks like I have a leak around the plug but also at the 11:00 position. I had planned on changing the fluid and replacing the seal, but do I need to replace the plug?

Hey you...I checked the driveshaft while in neutral and it moves about an inch. The differential has fluid in it, so in not sure where the grinding sound is coming from. It only happens when I press the gas pedal and at low speed. What the freak could cause this?

Just bought truck. Changing plugs, wires, drain plug, gasket, oil n filter, etc when I return from vacation.

Last edited by Bamabrat; 10-04-2014 at 05:38 PM.
Old 10-04-2014, 09:24 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,171 Likes on 2,924 Posts