2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Rear end issue, how much to fix?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2010, 01:55 AM
97_Redneck Ram
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Rear end issue, how much to fix?

i have 2nd gen Ram 1500 and i was drivin down the highway and i started to hear a whining sound... i left my foot off the throttle and the truck jerked a little and started makin a ton of grinding noise... im no mechanic but im pretty sure my rear end is on its way out. just wondering how much it will cost me to get it fixed... im a big d.i.y. guy so also wondrin how complicated it would be for me to fix it myself... again im no mechanic so i am not real familiar with doin work like this but if it will save me some money to do it myself im all for it...

Old 02-14-2010, 02:30 AM
Miami_Son
Banned
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Please don't just post anywhere. Your post was unrelated to the thread you put it in, so I moved it to it's own thread. Without knowing exactly what's wrong with your axle, it will be hard to give you an accurate estimate. Rear end noises can be caused by something simple to something extremely expensive. As for doing it yourself, if it involves the gears inside, unless you have the proper tools and knowledge, pay someone to fix it. Welcome to DF.

Old 02-14-2010, 09:31 AM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

grinding and screeching is usually associated with severe damage to the ring/pinion, or at least the spiders. if the ring, pinion, pinion bearings need replacement it'll likely cost about 400 or more in labor plus parts.

you can assess the damage by removing the diff cover and rotating the gears. you might get lucky and remove the shrapnel and continue to drive it. maybe, but i wouldn't count on it.