Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Unhooked battery to clear codes... now wont start

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-20-2010, 10:38 PM
Sport1500 Sport1500 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 01 Ram 1500 Sport 5.2L
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 59
Default Unhooked battery to clear codes... now wont start

I unhooked the negative cable on my battery this afternoon for 30 mins to clear my brake and abs lights (had a brake line blow out last week, just finished fixing it today). Now after I hooked the cable back up, it will crank but not start. I can hear the fuel pump buzz when I turn the key to on. I can keep it running if I give it gas as I'm starting but as soon as I let up on the pedal it dies. This is really frustrating because it just ran fine before unhooking the battery! Did I trip the security? I read through the owner manual but it didn't say much. I also waited an hour or so to see if it could come out of it (older GM's do this) but still no go.

The worst part is it doesn't seem like it even cleared the codes

Rob
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________
2001 Ram Sport 1500 4x4 - 5.2L quad cab
Cooper Discoverer STT LT265/75R16 tires
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2010, 10:42 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,290
Default

It needs to relearn the idle. Just give it enough gas to keep it running, and drive it around a bit. (carefully, expect it to stall every time you stop) Eventually, the computer will figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2010, 10:46 PM
Sport1500 Sport1500 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 01 Ram 1500 Sport 5.2L
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 59
Default

Wow really? I've never had to do this before with any car. This is normal on these trucks?

Rob
__________________
2001 Ram Sport 1500 4x4 - 5.2L quad cab
Cooper Discoverer STT LT265/75R16 tires
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2010, 10:47 PM
ghost4321 ghost4321 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 237
Default

Check and make sure the cable is back on tight, also check battery voltage. The PCM in these trucks needs and certain amount of voltage to run properly. I think it's 10.5 volts but I'm not sure. Giving it gas causes the alt to produce enough power to keep the truck running.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2010, 10:49 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,290
Default

Chevy does that as well. They just aren't quite as obvious about it.

My truck, when I replaced the battery, fired right up, and ran fine right away. But, that was a brand new battery. Don't know if that makes a difference.

You could check the TPS, and verify the IAC is actually doing something.... Probably need a friend to help you do that though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2010, 11:14 PM
Sport1500 Sport1500 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 01 Ram 1500 Sport 5.2L
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 59
Default

Yes after searching around it looks like the IAC possibly is bad or going bad and the computer was compensating for it and would now need to relearn. Seems like somewhat of a common issue after unhooking the battery.

Rob
__________________
2001 Ram Sport 1500 4x4 - 5.2L quad cab
Cooper Discoverer STT LT265/75R16 tires
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2010, 12:57 AM
DodgeTech228 DodgeTech228 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 26
Default

Perfectly normal. Run the truck as long as it takes to idle on its own.
__________________
If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:32 AM
Augiedoggy's Avatar
Augiedoggy Augiedoggy is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 96 ram ext cab 4x4 that followed me home and drained my bank account
Location: North Tonawanda NY,
Posts: 2,989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
It needs to relearn the idle. Just give it enough gas to keep it running, and drive it around a bit. (carefully, expect it to stall every time you stop) Eventually, the computer will figure it out.
yep had to do it on mine too...more than once when I had a slow drain on the battery killing it if it sat a few days...
__________________
5.9, eworld stainless shorties from ebay, magnaflow cat, gibson cat back,180 stat, ebay CAI, 50mm DIY TB, 3" body 2.5" spacers, rear shackle lift, 35" mud tires/ 4.56 gears to match rebuilt LSD, aftermarket lights, inserts, Herculined rockers and bed
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:46 AM
TheBigRedOne TheBigRedOne is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Vehicle: 2000 Ram 1500
Location: The Box
Posts: 915
Default

Mine doesn't do that when I pull the battery cable. When I reconnect the battery, I start it up and it idles just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:56 AM
DodgeTech228 DodgeTech228 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBigRedOne View Post
Mine doesn't do that when I pull the battery cable. When I reconnect the battery, I start it up and it idles just fine.
It's not just pulling the cables that cause this, but rather how long the PCM goes without power. Eventually it will lose the idle strategy and it has to be relearned.
__________________
If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-21-2010, 11:15 AM
Augiedoggy's Avatar
Augiedoggy Augiedoggy is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 96 ram ext cab 4x4 that followed me home and drained my bank account
Location: North Tonawanda NY,
Posts: 2,989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBigRedOne View Post
Mine doesn't do that when I pull the battery cable. When I reconnect the battery, I start it up and it idles just fine.
try pulling battery and then turning headlights on or leaving battery disconnected overnight..
__________________
5.9, eworld stainless shorties from ebay, magnaflow cat, gibson cat back,180 stat, ebay CAI, 50mm DIY TB, 3" body 2.5" spacers, rear shackle lift, 35" mud tires/ 4.56 gears to match rebuilt LSD, aftermarket lights, inserts, Herculined rockers and bed
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-21-2010, 12:36 PM
Sport1500 Sport1500 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 01 Ram 1500 Sport 5.2L
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 59
Default

I found this little tidbit in the service manual:

In the IAC motor system, the PCM will count every step that the motor is moved. This allows the PCM to determine the motor pintle position. If the memory is cleared, the PCM no longer knows the position of the pintle. So at the first key ON, the PCM drives the IAC motor closed, regardless of where it was before. This zeros the counter. From this point the PCM will back out the IAC motor and keep track of its position again.
__________________
2001 Ram Sport 1500 4x4 - 5.2L quad cab
Cooper Discoverer STT LT265/75R16 tires
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-25-2010, 12:37 PM
Sport1500 Sport1500 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 01 Ram 1500 Sport 5.2L
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 59
Default

Yep I just needed to drive it a bit. Luckily it was idling fine before I came to my first stop sign lol. Thanks guys

Rob
__________________
2001 Ram Sport 1500 4x4 - 5.2L quad cab
Cooper Discoverer STT LT265/75R16 tires
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-25-2010, 02:51 PM
sungod sungod is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 2500 4x4
Location: Fairfax VA
Posts: 389
Default

Maybe you should fix the issues that cause the codes????? They will come back.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-25-2010, 04:00 PM
Sport1500 Sport1500 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 01 Ram 1500 Sport 5.2L
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 59
Default

I did fix it. I repaired my brake line that blew out. I said that in the first sentence of my first post.

Rob
__________________
2001 Ram Sport 1500 4x4 - 5.2L quad cab
Cooper Discoverer STT LT265/75R16 tires
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-03-2010, 01:40 AM
Bubba39047's Avatar
Bubba39047 Bubba39047 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Vehicle: 2000 Dodge ram SWB.
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 614
Default

my truck did that when i had a dead battery. the guy at autozone luckly was a long time dodge guy
__________________
Great White. 2001 24v automatic 208xxx miles and still runnin! future upgrades to come. volunteer firefighter member #11 PICTURE GAME
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-03-2010, 06:02 AM
pcfixerpro pcfixerpro is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Vehicle: 01 Ram 4x4
Posts: 2,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sport1500 View Post
I did fix it. I repaired my brake line that blew out. I said that in the first sentence of my first post.

Rob
After I replaced my lines (i was the other guy to have his rear line go on the same day), my abs and brake light disapeared after I bled the brakes so I didn't have to reset.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 06:02 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails