Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

P1756 Error Code

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-28-2010, 01:55 AM
wyomingdodge7's Avatar
wyomingdodge7 wyomingdodge7 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Vehicle: '01 Ram 1500, 5.9, 4x4
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 264
Default P1756 Error Code

I just got this code today, but I've only owned the truck for a week. It does kind of lag at the start off the line, like its jumping to 2nd immediately, but not when I shift to 1st manually. Is this all related? What parts do I need? Will it be expensive in labor? Is it bad to drive it more?

Any help is greatly appreciated
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2010, 09:12 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is online now
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,347
Default

Governor pressure solenoid. I think you got a good answer for this one in the General Forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:03 PM
fdc360fl fdc360fl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: '98 Ram 1500 2WD; 5.9 V8; auto; MSD; TCI; TransGo; CAI
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 10
Default

I don't know if this issue is similar but my '98 Ram would pop a P1763 hi gov psi when I would tow thru mountains. Turned out to be a software deal a fixed by a TSB to reflash PCM ($75). BUT I could get my tranny back to happy on the road by disconnecting the negative battery cable for a couple minutes to clear the code. Everything worked normal until I towed the "big hills" again. Not saying your sensors aren't bad, just hate to see you go thru $'s and time if you can "fix" it easy. Bear in mind a psi code and sensor code are different animals, but if your light goes out and stays out you are golden.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:31 PM
wyomingdodge7's Avatar
wyomingdodge7 wyomingdodge7 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Vehicle: '01 Ram 1500, 5.9, 4x4
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 264
Default

I will try that but is there any danger in doing it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:46 PM
wyomingdodge7's Avatar
wyomingdodge7 wyomingdodge7 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Vehicle: '01 Ram 1500, 5.9, 4x4
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 264
Default

I tried it, the first time it shifted right, 1st, 2nd, and so on, but the subsequent times it once again quickly shifted to 3rd right off the line. The light is off now, when will it come back on?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:48 PM
fdc360fl fdc360fl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: '98 Ram 1500 2WD; 5.9 V8; auto; MSD; TCI; TransGo; CAI
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 10
Default

Nope. Your trip odometer will go back to zero and start over. You will have to reset your clock, and sometimes you radio presets (rarely happens if you don't leave it unhooked longer than five minutes).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:50 PM
fdc360fl fdc360fl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: '98 Ram 1500 2WD; 5.9 V8; auto; MSD; TCI; TransGo; CAI
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 10
Default

If your sensor is indeed bad the PCM will monitor things and you will pop the code once again. Sometimes you have to drive them for 10 - 20 miles to get a reset.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:54 PM
wyomingdodge7's Avatar
wyomingdodge7 wyomingdodge7 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Vehicle: '01 Ram 1500, 5.9, 4x4
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 264
Default

Will it still show up if I get it plugged into a computer at a shop?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:58 PM
fdc360fl fdc360fl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: '98 Ram 1500 2WD; 5.9 V8; auto; MSD; TCI; TransGo; CAI
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 10
Default

If you don't have a Haynes manual I very much recommend you get one. I have one and I also bought the factory manuals (they are pricey). I don't know your skill/knowledge level, but the Haynes manual will walk you through most DIY deals. A trip to Harbor Freight for a code scanner (about $35) is also something I recommend. These two things alone just might save you from getting burned if you have to take your truck in to get repaired. You will at least have a bit of a base to go from. They will also give you the confidence to tackle some things yourself. Plus you have this great site.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-29-2010, 08:03 PM
wyomingdodge7's Avatar
wyomingdodge7 wyomingdodge7 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Vehicle: '01 Ram 1500, 5.9, 4x4
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 264
Default

Well I'm 16, this is my first 'real' truck, so I'm pretty new at this stuff
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-30-2010, 12:31 PM
fdc360fl fdc360fl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: '98 Ram 1500 2WD; 5.9 V8; auto; MSD; TCI; TransGo; CAI
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 10
Default

First off, welcome to the truck world. Second, realize that NO body got into vehicle repair with total knowledge and ability, we all busted knuckles, screwed things up, etc. This is one hobby that NOT asking questions is way dumb, and expensive. You really need to learn as much as your mechanical ability will allow you in order to save a ton of money.

Transmissions in our Dodge's have gotten a lot of bad press for failure. However, I have never had a problem with mine (except the software deal) and I have 103000 on it. This tranny has pulled 8000 lbs+ over mountains and in 100+ degree heat w/o a hitch. I have a couple friends back in Illinois who also have had the same experience. We all do one simple thing - change fluid and filter, and adjust the bands every 12K - 14K. I have always done my own, but one of those friends took his to a dealer the first time - it cost him $275 and that was 6 years ago. I taught him how to do it. He then kept about $240 in his pocket. It is not difficult.

Go to Autozone, or wherever, and get a drain plug kit (about $8) before the first change. If you do that the first change will be your messy one. The filter from CarQuest is identical to Mopar's but around $10 less. Always use a high quality fluid (I have used Amsoil ATF for over 75K miles). Most important, keep your hands and tools CLEAN! Dirt inside automatic transmissions means early tranny death.

Be patient with yourself, and go slow. I'm sure you have a cell phone with camera, use it BEFORE you remove things. The pix are wonderful to refresh yourself when you ar eready to put things back together. Do NOT force a part off or on (unless it broke in a major failure). Especially screws and bolts. They should go back in place smoothly.

Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 12:31 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails