Transmission Fluid Capacity - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Transmission Fluid Capacity

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 01-07-2011, 03:49 PM
mjonesjr's Avatar
mjonesjr
mjonesjr is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Salem, IN
Posts: 224
Default Transmission Fluid Capacity

I have a '96 1500 with the 5.9. I am going to drop the pan tomorrow and change the transmission fluid.

I have the stock pan, how many quarts of ATF+4 will I need to fill it back up with?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2011, 04:08 PM
ferguson30
ferguson30 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjonesjr View Post
I have a '96 1500 with the 5.9. I am going to drop the pan tomorrow and change the transmission fluid.

I have the stock pan, how many quarts of ATF+4 will I need to fill it back up with?
Last time I did mine it took right at 5 quarts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2011, 04:13 PM
PurplDodge's Avatar
PurplDodge
PurplDodge is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8,321
Default

Depends on how much comes out and how long you let it sit. Best way to find out is to measure how much comes out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2011, 04:20 PM
TwistedCage
TwistedCage is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 89
Default

calls for 4 qts to drain and fill 11 or so to dry fill
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2011, 08:32 PM
dipsherry's Avatar
dipsherry
dipsherry is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: daytona beach florida
Posts: 1,091
Default

just did mine yesterday and let it sit for around a half hour with no pan on it took me 6 quarts and a quart of lucas so 7 quarts i wanted to drain as much as possible thats y i let it sit for so long
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2011, 08:49 PM
PurplDodge's Avatar
PurplDodge
PurplDodge is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8,321
Default

Dont use lucas.

Also dont forget to put in a drain plug!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2011, 11:36 PM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw
jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,376
Default

+1 for no Lucas. Been known to ruin our picky transmissions. Pure ATF+4 only.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2011, 11:40 PM
grox
grox is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 316
Default

It takes 4 quarts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2011, 12:39 AM
matty675's Avatar
matty675
matty675 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,504
Default

mine took 8
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2011, 01:55 AM
Sheriff420's Avatar
Sheriff420
Sheriff420 is offline
Grand Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lee County, North Carolina
Posts: 6,921
Default

It takes 4-8.
Like Purpl said, it depends on how long you let it sit.
I let mine sit overnight the last time I changed it and it took close to 8 quarts.
I think it took 6 the time before that.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
tspeed109
2nd Gen Dakota
4
10-23-2016 02:30 PM
kd5taa
2nd Gen Ram Tech
24
07-27-2015 08:27 AM
eagle101
2nd Gen Ram Tech
4
07-17-2015 12:07 PM
HappyDodger
3rd Gen Ram Tech
2
07-15-2015 05:20 PM
5.9Durango360
1st Gen Durango
2
07-06-2015 09:59 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send