2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

'97 Ram 1500 5.2, Misfire on No. 5

Old 08-14-2011, 02:32 PM
GlennCraven
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '97 Ram 1500 5.2, Misfire on No. 5

Hello,

My first post. I've Googled several sites and used the search feature here to learn about my problem, and have most likely just confused myself further. I am a writer, not a mechanic.

Before I go into my sick truck's specifics, I want to note that I did read the sticky thread on plenum problems, and I'm hoping that doesn't apply to my Ram. For starters, I've owned it about three years (running it from 110K, where I bought it, up to 180K miles) and it's never used much oil. No more than a quart between changes, usually more like half a quart. (Though some of the other plenum symptoms perhaps do apply to this truck, to some degree.)

Also, while the catalytic converter certainly is old enough to have failed, one of the principal and "rather quick" symptoms of a clogged CAT as described in that plenum sticky is fouling at the No. 8 plug; my No. 8 looks fine; it's plug 5 that's bad.

So here are my truck's specifics and the problem:

-- 1997 Dodge Ram 1500 4x2, 5.2 V8 with automatic.
-- 179,571, two-owner miles.
-- Underwent a full tune-up with new Champion plugs, new plug wires, distributor cap and rotor, filters, belts, etc., at an ASE award-winning shop in another state exactly two years ago. (I promptly took it on a 1,400-mile trip and got nearly 20 mpg highway.)
-- (Seemingly) ran like a champ until about a week ago.