Bad O2 sensor? - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Bad O2 sensor?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-06-2012, 11:02 PM
Prototype's Avatar
Prototype Prototype is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: 98 1500 4x2 5.9 auto
Location: Jamul CA
Posts: 76
Default Bad O2 sensor?

I replaced my O2 sensor with a kem parts replacement from rock auto. Now my CEL popped on code 21 wlwhich says along the lines that the sensor voltage is not fluctuating. I still have the old one. It is original tho. I need to take the rig back to the commiefornia referee tomorrow afternoon. Is it possible that the new one is just bad? Its my 94 ram 1500 Canada model. The O2 is 4 wire pre cat. Thanks.

Last edited by Prototype; 02-07-2012 at 04:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2012, 11:05 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 40,523
Default

Never heard of them guys........
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2012, 12:52 AM
gdstock's Avatar
gdstock gdstock is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Vehicle: 1999 Ram 1500, 5.2L auto
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 8,259
Default

Get a NGK O2 sensor....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2012, 01:30 AM
sniper dave sniper dave is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Vehicle: 98 Ram 1500 5.9 4X4 Club Cab
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdstock View Post
Get a NGK O2 sensor....
x2 on NGK
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2012, 01:53 AM
jswain jswain is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 4 X 4, 360, automatic
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 430
Default

Was the old 02 sensor setting a code or causing problems? If not, I'd put the old one back in and verify that the new 02 is bad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2012, 04:39 AM
Prototype's Avatar
Prototype Prototype is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: 98 1500 4x2 5.9 auto
Location: Jamul CA
Posts: 76
Default

Yeah, I put the old one back in and it seems to be working, I failed the emissions test again, The hydrocarbons at idle were 105 and it needs to be under 100 to pass. I don't know what else to do to the damned thing.. I gave it plugs, wires, cap and rotor.. Now I'm just looking to get out from it.. I put it up on craigslist this afternoon for $1600, with a disclaimer saying it doesnt smog, and I've already got a couple emails.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2012, 10:08 AM
gdstock's Avatar
gdstock gdstock is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Vehicle: 1999 Ram 1500, 5.2L auto
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 8,259
Default

Does 94 have EGR? If so, check hoses. They sometimes rot.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2012, 03:14 PM
Prototype's Avatar
Prototype Prototype is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: 98 1500 4x2 5.9 auto
Location: Jamul CA
Posts: 76
Default

94 does have an EGR but I replaced that a few months ago and all the hoses are good.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[4th Gen : 01-07]: Rough Idle/O2 Sensor Issues...HELP!!! Miketech137 Dodge Caravan 5 10-20-2015 07:27 PM
2003 Durango R/T NEW "no bus" issues Strocket 1st Gen Durango 3 08-02-2015 06:20 PM
In & Out of lock-up/Tranny temp sensor Fubba 2nd Gen Ram Tech 2 07-28-2015 12:41 AM
ABS sensor -99 Johanswe 2nd Gen Ram Tech 2 07-27-2015 11:29 AM
2002 dodge neon 2.0 sohc colons3499 Dodge Neon 0 07-09-2015 04:57 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 AM.