Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

V10 to Cummins

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-09-2012, 01:19 PM
Npost05 Npost05 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default V10 to Cummins

I have a 1998 Ram 2500 V10 and I want to put a 12v Cummins in it. What do I all have to do to do this?

Thanks
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2012, 06:23 PM
mccart mccart is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: dodge
Location: cedar hill mo
Posts: 314
Default

Just sell it and buy a cummins. Lot less of a headache
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:35 AM
Wombat Ranger's Avatar
Wombat Ranger Wombat Ranger is offline
Grand Champion
1993 Dodge W-Series
My Garage
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: An always changing fleet of Mopars
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 5,573
Mark Bulger
Default

12v swap could be fairly simple. Find a way to trick the computer enough to get the gauges and interior switches to work, swap in the mechanically injected 12v, hook it up to the temp gauges and tach, and you're set. Your v10 trans will bolt up to the 6BT just fine, and the motor mounts are the same as well.

Is your truck an NV4500 or an auto trans? Got any pics?

Also, for future reference it is easier for people to know what's going on if you fill out your signature with the info from your truck (and a picture if you'd like). Just go to the UserCP link at the top left of the page, and find the edit signature link. Welcome to the Dodge Forum.
__________________
'90 W-250 Non-IC 12v/727 stock
'79 D50 lawn ornament
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2012, 11:43 AM
Npost05 Npost05 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks im new to this. I have a 1998 2500 ram V10. It has a AT in it. The V10 motor is missed up I have true duals no cats and the drivers side is burning really rich and the other side its sucking in like. When you take the oil fill cap off its sucking to and im getting pressure in the crank case. Any ideals on what might be wrong or is it better to pull it and put a Cummins in it.

Thanks
__________________
1998 Dodge Ram 2500 V10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2012, 11:44 AM
Npost05 Npost05 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
1998 Dodge Ram 2500 V10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:04 PM
mantisman51's Avatar
mantisman51 mantisman51 is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QC Laramie 318 c.i.
Location: Miracle Valley, AZ
Posts: 1,603
Default

Seriously, you need to price an ECM or whatever that gen computer is called. Then price a new wire harness and then see if you will need a new cluster to hook the harness to-the diesel and gas engines have different sensors that monitor totally different engine and tranny processes. After you figure out what those will cost, guesstimate how much time to pull the old engine and install the new and how much time to plumb in the new harness(which can take far longer than the engine R&R). The double your $ estimate and quadruple your time estimate and you will be close to how much time and money you will be into the swap. Then compare how much you can sell your truck for and how much a Cummins of the same year will cost and you will find just buying a Cummins truck complete will be far cheaper.
__________________
John
"Sometimes adults are the biggest babies-WAAAAHHHHHHH"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:18 PM
CPTAFW163's Avatar
CPTAFW163 CPTAFW163 is offline
Champion
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Vehicle: 2001 1500 4x4 off road
Location: West Point, NY
Posts: 2,729
Default

Don't feel bad about asking these questions Npost. When I first joined I had owned a an Iroc, and you can pretty much swap any old engine in there rather cheaply. However, Chrysler makes it hard and EXPENSIVE to do the same. Not to mention performance parts costs for our trucks.

When I first joined, you were very limited in performance upgrades, and the ones that existed were very expensive. You pretty much needed to do a cam swap to get any noticeable increase.

Now, there are more parts, and they are relatively popular so you are not paying for their weight in gold like in the early-mid 2000s!!
__________________
2001 Dodge Ram 1500, 4x4 OFF ROAD California Concepts, 50mm Fastman, Fitch Fuel Catalyst, MSD 6AL & Coil, Bosch 24# injectors, 1.7s, JBA headers, Tuned by HEMIFEVER.

RIP Spruce Moose: Green 1996 SLT Laramie 4x4 5.2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:22 PM
mantisman51's Avatar
mantisman51 mantisman51 is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QC Laramie 318 c.i.
Location: Miracle Valley, AZ
Posts: 1,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPTAFW163 View Post
Don't feel bad about asking these questions Npost. When I first joined I had owned a an Iroc, and you can pretty much swap any old engine in there rather cheaply. However, Chrysler makes it hard and EXPENSIVE to do the same. Not to mention performance parts costs for our trucks.
Uh, not really. I have switched a 6.4L diesel to 5.7 in a 1985 Chevy pickup and it was difficult, expensive and the whole damn thing had to be re-plumbed. Any diesel-gas or gas-diesel swap by any manufacturer is going to be expensive and difficult. My ***'s smoke detector went off reading that line there.
__________________
John
"Sometimes adults are the biggest babies-WAAAAHHHHHHH"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2012, 08:12 AM
Free Range Free Range is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

I dunno if your allowed to post links to other forums on here, but a guy on the cumminsforum did this very same swap with almost no trouble. About the only things that he changed were keeping the diesel toque converter for a lower stall and changing the dash gauges. Keep in mind the 12v PCM only runs your gauges, battery charging, wait to start/grid heaters, water in fuel, air conditioning and automatic tranny shifting, everything else is mechanical. Hope this helps.
__________________
01 2500 6spd 4x4 CTD, Airdog 100, Smarty, BHAF, BD steering stabilizer brace, 201k
95 1500 At 4x4 5.9, K&N, Flowmaster 30 series, 183k
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2012, 10:34 AM
Wombat Ranger's Avatar
Wombat Ranger Wombat Ranger is offline
Grand Champion
1993 Dodge W-Series
My Garage
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: An always changing fleet of Mopars
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 5,573
Mark Bulger
Default

The PCM problem is that he has a '98. They put out a few 12v's in '98 with the newer interior design, but they are quite rare. Maybe that PCM would still be easily acquired, i dunno. Course, maybe it doesn't matter! Would an older PCM still run all that stuff? Other then that I see no reason this couldn't be done fairly easily/inexpensively.
__________________
'90 W-250 Non-IC 12v/727 stock
'79 D50 lawn ornament
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 10:34 AM
Reply
 
 
 




Tags
cummins diesel, v10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2