2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Manual Torque Converter Lock-up

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
  #21  
Old 07-08-2012, 10:00 PM
iwhitne's Avatar
iwhitne
iwhitne is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The Buckeye State... OHIO
Posts: 1,669
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

it should work on any 2nd gen ram... there's a few between 95-96 that it may not work on according to the link... worked great on my rig... works great on gas of diesel trucks!
 
  #22  
Old 07-08-2012, 10:07 PM
EndIsNear's Avatar
EndIsNear
EndIsNear is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I guess I'm gonna try it after I'm done moving. If ill benefit from it, what the hell, right?
 
  #23  
Old 07-20-2012, 10:46 PM
iwhitne's Avatar
iwhitne
iwhitne is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The Buckeye State... OHIO
Posts: 1,669
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Well.. I've put a tank of fuel through her and I seemed to have gained 1.12 mpg..... I think I can improve this... as I used it sparingly for the first 100 miles...

the shifts seem some... if you time it correctly, it almost like your driving a manual.... acceleration improved

I can idle thru town at 25mph or cruise at 40mph @ 1,000 rpm
 
  #24  
Old 09-01-2012, 06:37 PM
EndIsNear's Avatar
EndIsNear
EndIsNear is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So when this switch is off, it no longer operates normally? Once you do this mod you always have to engage the TC manually, correct?
 
  #25  
Old 01-28-2014, 02:04 AM
pasechnik's Avatar
pasechnik
pasechnik is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Here is "smart" solution for manual TC lock.

I was thinking about adding manual switch to and I did but the problem is sooner or later you will forget to turn it off before stop . So after it happened to me few times I decided to do something.

After googling for a while I only cold find 2 solutions expensive buy control or cheap switch.

I didn't like both of them and made 3 one. It cost me about $20+time.
I will post step buy step solution in next few posts. Please hold on let me finish it to avoid mess.
 

Last edited by pasechnik; 01-28-2014 at 03:20 AM.
  #26  
Old 01-28-2014, 02:15 AM
pasechnik's Avatar
pasechnik
pasechnik is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default #1 List of materials

1. Arduino UNO. (eBay)

2. Arduino relay (eBay) or just 5V relay from scrap electronics....

3. Power supply for my old usb handsfree. (12v-5v)

4. op-amp amplifier. I found one in old bread maker AZ358

http://junwellcorp.com/Attachment.ph...rp.com.cn/pdf/

#4 can be LM128 or LM358 or probably many other op-amps.

5. Some wires.
 

Last edited by pasechnik; 01-28-2014 at 03:22 AM.
  #27  
Old 01-28-2014, 02:28 AM
pasechnik's Avatar
pasechnik
pasechnik is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default #2 My truck

My truck is Ram 1998.5 5.9 24v diesel.

1. I found how to add manual switch here:

http://www.tstproducts.com/Torque%20...p%20Switch.pdf

2. I used speed sensor which is located on top of rear differential. The 2 wires come straight to ABS module in engine bay. (will post colors later).

The signal from speed sensor is low voltage, so I used op-amp amplifier to boost it. (see post # 26 #4.)
 
  #28  
Old 01-28-2014, 02:42 AM
pasechnik's Avatar
pasechnik
pasechnik is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default #3 Wiring what where how

First and the most complicated part is op-amp. Here in this pdf find page #2 "Pin Configuration"

http://junwellcorp.com/Attachment.ph...rp.com.cn/pdf/

pin 1 output goes to pin #5 on Arduino board
pin 2 and pin 3 are 2 wires from speed sensor doesn't matter + or -
pin 4 ground goes to pin ground Arduino
pin 5,6,7 nothing
pin 8 +5 v from Arduino

Power supply can be any 5V USB car charger. I just soldered + and - to Arduino board.

I bought relay for Arduino but 5V relay can be found just about anywhere. I used pin #8 on Arduino board to turn relay ON/OFF.

I still have manual switch which can turn off TC lock manually even if Arduino keeps it locked. Here is handy for heavy towing.....

I also added LED which shows TC status Locked-ON Unlocked-Off
 

Last edited by pasechnik; 01-28-2014 at 03:23 AM.
  #29  
Old 01-28-2014, 02:50 AM
pasechnik's Avatar
pasechnik
pasechnik is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default #4 Software

Just google Arduino and see what you need to install to make it work. Arduino soft is open source and FREE.

Also you need to read this if you like:

http://interface.khm.de/index.php/la...unter-library/

I used their code and just changed few things....

You need to Download >FreqCounter Library:

http://interface.khm.de/wp-content/u...unter_1_12.zip

You need to add this Library to make code work. Here what to do:

http://arduino.cc/en/Guide/Libraries
 
  #30  
Old 01-28-2014, 02:52 AM
pasechnik's Avatar
pasechnik
pasechnik is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default #5 Code

#include <FreqCounter.h>
const int relayPin = 8;

void setup() {
// initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
Serial.begin(57600);
Serial.println("Frequency Counter");
pinMode(relayPin, OUTPUT);
}
int torqLock=1875;
int torqUnlock=1700;
long int rpm;
void loop() {
FreqCounter::f_comp=12; // Set compensation to 12
FreqCounter::start(1000); // Start counting with gatetime of 100ms
while (FreqCounter::f_ready == 0) // wait until counter ready

rpm=FreqCounter::f_freq-FreqCounter::f_freq/500; // read result
Serial.println(rpm); // print result
//delay(1);

if (rpm < torqUnlock) {
// Unlock Relay off: HIGH
digitalWrite(relayPin, HIGH);
}
else if (rpm > torqLock) {
// Lock Relay on: LOW
digitalWrite(relayPin, LOW);
}

}
 


Quick Reply: Manual Torque Converter Lock-up



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 PM.