2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

timing chain cover, rear main seal, possibly head gasket to

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2013, 12:25 AM
Lobo88
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool timing chain cover, rear main seal, possibly head gasket to

Soooo I had my 2000 dodge ram inspected yesterday and was told my rear main seal was pissing out oil and my timing chain cover was also leaking, and on top of that while changing my spark plugs tonight it also looks like my driver side head gasket may have blown. (may have as im not a mechanic)

This is on a remanufactured engine that has barely 2k miles on it.

Any ideas on what caused this triple threat would be greatly appreciated :]

Old 04-13-2013, 12:38 AM
gdstock
Legend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Not sure what caused it...but I would be getting in touch with who you bought it from immediately! Who installed it? Same as who sold it to you?

What is the warranty?

Old 04-13-2013, 12:45 AM
Lobo88
Amateur

my mechanic back home installed it. im taking it back either tomorrow or Monday if this snow storm doesn't hit to hard. they bought it from a dealership I think. it has a 3yr 36k mile warranty. my mechanic called the place they ordered the engine from and they are backing the warranty for the rear main seal and timing cover. ill have to wait and see about the head gasket since I only noticed it tonight around 10pm

Old 04-13-2013, 12:57 AM
gdstock
Legend

Was it a long block or short block? Head and gasket issue should be covered as well!

Old 04-13-2013, 01:03 AM
Lobo88
Amateur

it was a long block. id imagine itll be covered. my mechanic backs there work 100% also so im not worried.