Wet and Loose Starter - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Wet and Loose Starter

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 04-19-2013, 01:51 AM
TheBigRedTruck
TheBigRedTruck is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 261
Default Wet and Loose Starter

My truck has been acting up lately. Occasionally it will try to start, and without even cranking, I'll hear a loud "snap"/"spark" and the truck will act as if the battery is disconnected. I then have to remove the battery cables and put them back on. I figured out the problem wasn't the fuse box so I took a look at my starter (for the first time). I noticed I was able to move it back and forth on the one bolt that was holding it on. The shaft that has the gear on it was soaked in oil/transmission fluid. Could this be shorting out my capacitor?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2013, 07:46 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

"capacitor" ? You mean starter solenoid?(or armature maybe) You have some problems to fix I'm thinking. And yes, the starter for one. And the tranny oil leak. ? Thats the front pump/tc seal . Tranny removal time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2013, 08:35 PM
TheBigRedTruck
TheBigRedTruck is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 261
Default

just installed a new starter and all is good.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2013, 08:55 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

With 2 bolts I hope. And you still have the tranny fluid issue, which replacing the starter won't help with.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2013, 09:07 PM
TheBigRedTruck
TheBigRedTruck is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 261
Default

the starter i got makes it impossible to put the top bolt in. so i put a smaller bolt and a nut on. the starter wont budge now. ill worry about the tranny when i get a manual 5speed lol
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Winchested
3rd Gen Ram Tech
6
10-16-2015 05:46 PM
t480
2nd Gen Neon
1
10-13-2015 01:12 PM
BigBlueEdge
4th Gen Ram Tech
10
09-28-2015 10:12 AM
t480
Dodge Neon
0
09-22-2015 05:07 PM
papa_smurf73
2nd Gen Ram Tech
2
09-05-2015 11:53 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send