Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

01 to 97 motor swap question

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-01-2013, 11:35 AM
blazer01 blazer01 is offline
Rookie
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default 01 to 97 motor swap question

motor is in,trying to get wiring done its a lot different my problem now is can't figure out where camshaft sensor/pick up stator plugs into anyone got a idea,its a 97 sst im working on
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2013, 12:22 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
2000 Dodge Ram 2500
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

The cam shaft sensor plugs into the wire harness running along side the driver side valve cover, the harness under the injectors.
__________________
2000 2500HD 4X4 5.9 and 4:10's,HF tuned SCT,Red-Head gear box, HS 1.7's,
50mm Fastman TB, Hughes Plate,2" Hell Bent ,Volant CAI
Flowmaster 50 series, Rock Solid Ram Steering fix,B&M trans cooler,fuzzy dice good for 5HP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2013, 12:38 PM
blazer01 blazer01 is offline
Rookie
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

exactly where it was on my 01 ram,but harness is different on the 97 crank and oil pressure are there(different) but no cam sensor plug
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2013, 12:40 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 32,228
Default

It should be around in that neighborhood....
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2013, 12:52 PM
blazer01 blazer01 is offline
Rookie
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

man i wish it was,i was thinking maybe 97 had different plug or something there are a couple 2 wire plugs there not used yet,but no unused3 wire plugs i will be working on it again after work hopefully someone here can figure this out
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2013, 08:23 PM
blazer01 blazer01 is offline
Rookie
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

still no luck had a 98 to compare and it was like my 01 nothing like my 97 no cut wires or missing any from main harness still taped from factory together can't figure this out
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2013, 10:38 PM
merc225hp's Avatar
merc225hp merc225hp is offline
Champion
1996 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Vehicle: 1996 Ram 1500 4wd
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,469
Default

I think you need to get a pickup for a 97 motor. Rockauto has different part numbers for the years, so maybe a different plug end.
__________________


1996 1500, Built 5.9, 7" suspension lift, Dana 60's installed, 241DLD xcase swap, xcase indexing ring, long-arms, and more. DF May 2013 ROTM, DF photo of the week Oct/11/2013

Last edited by merc225hp; 06-01-2013 at 10:43 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2013, 12:02 AM
QuadCabLuv QuadCabLuv is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Vehicle: 2001 2500 2wd 360 auto
Posts: 1,585
Default

They are. If I had known the year models before I wouldve said something. The plugs on alot of things changed in 98.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-2013, 08:02 AM
blazer01 blazer01 is offline
Rookie
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

ok thanks guys,much appreciated,going by parts store hopefully don't have to be ordered
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-2013, 08:15 AM
blazer01 blazer01 is offline
Rookie
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 57
Default

is there a fuse for the obd port no power getting there

Last edited by blazer01; 06-02-2013 at 08:19 AM..
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 08:15 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails