Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2001 1500 shifting problems

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-12-2013, 02:57 PM
joshdodge's Avatar
joshdodge joshdodge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge 1500 5.9
Posts: 11
Default 2001 1500 shifting problems

Hey guys, I just bought a 2001 Dodge 1500 5.9 and I'm having transmission trouble. It seems to shift fine from 1st to 2nd but after that it seems to not want to shift at all. It revs up to 3500+ rpm and still doesn't shift, but if I let off the accelerator then it will usually shift. I did some searching around here and thought maybe I needed a new transmission speed sensor so I replaced it but it did not solve the problem. Any advice for the new guy? Thanks
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!

Last edited by joshdodge; 06-12-2013 at 04:37 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2013, 03:34 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is online now
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,302
Default

Shift sensor?

Could be a couple things.... governor pressure sensor/solenoid, output speed sensor, loose bands, etc.

Did you drop the pan to change said sensor?
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2013, 04:26 PM
joshdodge's Avatar
joshdodge joshdodge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge 1500 5.9
Posts: 11
Default

Sorry, I replaced the transmission speed sensor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2013, 04:32 PM
dodge dude94 dodge dude94 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QCSB 360 4x4
Location: East Texas
Posts: 8,923
Default

Sounds kinda like the governor pressure sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2013, 05:47 PM
joshdodge's Avatar
joshdodge joshdodge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge 1500 5.9
Posts: 11
Default

Well it's now throwing a p1740 code
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2013, 05:49 PM
dodge dude94 dodge dude94 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 1998 Ram 1500 QCSB 360 4x4
Location: East Texas
Posts: 8,923
Default

P1740 TCC or O/D Solenoid Perf

Sounds like a governor solenoid.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2013, 07:10 PM
joshdodge's Avatar
joshdodge joshdodge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge 1500 5.9
Posts: 11
Default

You were completely correct. I took it to a tranny shop and they also said the governor pressure sensor and solenoid are dead. I'm going to fix this myself considering the shop wants to charge me 700 bucks to do it.

Is there anything else I should do while I'm in there? I'm contemplating getting this kit, http://www.cascadetransmissionparts....kit2000up.aspx Would this be a smart idea? Will I need to remove the valve body to install the 3/4 accumulator spring and O/D solenoid/harness

Last edited by joshdodge; 06-14-2013 at 07:19 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2013, 07:19 PM
Gaius Gaius is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Vehicle: Wrangler, Cherokee, Ram, all 98s
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 236
Default

Replace that and the transducer. Get the larger Borg Warner pressure sensor for a solid upgrade.
__________________
98 TJ 5.9/46RE
85 Wagoneer 5.2/44RE
01 F250 Powerstroke 7.3/ZF6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2013, 08:03 PM
stewie01's Avatar
stewie01 stewie01 is online now
Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Vehicle: 2001 Ram 1500 4x2 360V8
Location: Independence, Virginia
Posts: 8,568
Default

You can get the BW Solenoid and new transducer off of eBay for $100.

I'd just get that and change the filter while you're in there.

Fluid is what gets expensive, around $50-$60 depending on the brand you get, cheap Wal-Mart ATF+4 is cheaper....
__________________
"This place is an X-file, wrapped in a cover-up and deep-fried in a paranoid conspiracy."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2013, 01:04 AM
joshdodge's Avatar
joshdodge joshdodge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge 1500 5.9
Posts: 11
Default

After I install the sensor and solenoid is there anything I need to do to the tranny? i.e. put it in learn mode or something? Or do I just clear the code with my OBD II and call it good?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-15-2013, 06:20 AM
grover2044's Avatar
grover2044 grover2044 is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 5.2L
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 43
Default

I would check the TV Cable adjustment...
__________________
1996 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4, 5.2 L, 3" Lift, 33" tires, Bushwacker Fender Flares, Tube steps, Brush Guard, Magnaflow exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-15-2013, 09:36 AM
stewie01's Avatar
stewie01 stewie01 is online now
Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Vehicle: 2001 Ram 1500 4x2 360V8
Location: Independence, Virginia
Posts: 8,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshdodge View Post
After I install the sensor and solenoid is there anything I need to do to the tranny? i.e. put it in learn mode or something? Or do I just clear the code with my OBD II and call it good?
Shoot I didn't even unplug my battery for the replacement of the sensor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grover2044 View Post
I would check the TV Cable adjustment...
+1 on this.

http://bionicdodge.com/Download/Dodg...Adjustment.pdf
__________________
"This place is an X-file, wrapped in a cover-up and deep-fried in a paranoid conspiracy."
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-15-2013, 09:40 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is online now
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,302
Default

Keep in mind you have to check fluid level in neutral. Park won't give an accurate reading.
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-15-2013, 05:41 PM
joshdodge's Avatar
joshdodge joshdodge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge 1500 5.9
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for all the help guys. I ordered the BW solenoid and sensor, should be here by Wednesday.

How will I know if the TV cable is out of adjustment? I did a quick search and it seems that I should have no slack in the cable with closed throttle, sound right? Also, if I do need to adjust it, should I start by adjusting the end on the tranny or the TB?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-15-2013, 09:37 PM
Paul DeHayes's Avatar
Paul DeHayes Paul DeHayes is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Vehicle: 99 Dodge Ram Laramie SLT 5.9L 360
Location: SC
Posts: 173
Default

You do the adjustment via the throttle body side of the cable. IIRC, when adjusting the cable, if you move it more towards the firewall, you'll get softer shifts, move it more away from the firewall, you get firmer shifts. btw, the 2001 FSM that is available for download here in the 2nd Gen Forum outlines the procedure decently.....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:30 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is online now
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul DeHayes View Post
You do the adjustment via the throttle body side of the cable. IIRC, when adjusting the cable, if you move it more towards the firewall, you'll get softer shifts, move it more away from the firewall, you get firmer shifts. btw, the 2001 FSM that is available for download here in the 2nd Gen Forum outlines the procedure decently.....
Backwards, methinks.

Pulling the cable back toward the firewall will give firmer shifts, at slightly higher RPM.

Don't move the cable more than one or two clicks at a time once it is reduce to zero slack. Adjust, drive, see what you think. Adjust some more if you want.
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:49 AM
stewie01's Avatar
stewie01 stewie01 is online now
Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Vehicle: 2001 Ram 1500 4x2 360V8
Location: Independence, Virginia
Posts: 8,568
Default

I still haven't looked to see why I have slack in my TV cable

But I adjusted it back towards the firewall, bout 1/4" or so, my shifts are babys butt smooth, you don't even feel them, and it shifts up around 3k RPM now...

And I've noticed a very positive improvement in overall performance
__________________
"This place is an X-file, wrapped in a cover-up and deep-fried in a paranoid conspiracy."
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:25 PM
joshdodge's Avatar
joshdodge joshdodge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge 1500 5.9
Posts: 11
Default

Is there a way to drain all of the tranny fluid without doing a flush?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-21-2013, 12:50 PM
joshdodge's Avatar
joshdodge joshdodge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge 1500 5.9
Posts: 11
Default

Well I put in the BW solenoid and pressure sensor and that fixed my shifting issues.

But the CEL came back on and its throwing the same p1740 code and also a pending p1740 code. Not sure where to go from here. It seems that shifting into 4th there is a slight stutter in the RPM, its hard to explain but essentially a stutter. Also while driving at a steady speed my RPM fluctuates 25-50rpm, its nothing huge but I can notice it.

Do you guys have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-21-2013, 08:48 PM
ReadRam ReadRam is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Vehicle: 01 Ram 1500 slt 5.9 2wd
Location: fargo, n.d
Posts: 740
Default

Throttle position sensor is probably responsible for the surges at steady speed. Replace. Wont throw a code until it's really shot.
__________________
01,Ram,slt,1500/2wd ,RCLB/5.9, 21#red factory injectors/lsd diff/ 100,000mi now,/ no rust/med bronze pearlct. Ebay plenum repair, Cloyes 3028x double roller, Monroe load adjusting coil over rear shocks/ 245/75/16 load range E.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 08:48 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:29 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails