Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1996 dodge ram 1500 4wd 5.9l magnum idle issues

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-30-2013, 09:28 AM
TraciAsher TraciAsher is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default 1996 dodge ram 1500 4wd 5.9l magnum idle issues

Have a 1996 ram 1500 5.9l and am having idle issues. Idle will drop when at a light, stop signs, or when sitting at idle. When the idle drops, there is a loud sucking sound at the throttle body. Sometimes the idle will kick back up other times it will die. Also have some issues with loss of power while driving. Have replaced throttle body, plenum gasket, intake gasket, throttle body gasket, map sensor, IAC, throttle position sensor, all fuel injectors, distributor, plugs and wires, timing chain, head gaskets, heads, header pipes,header gaskets, transmission rebuilt with a tow package and shift kit, fly wheel and torque converter replaced, new alternator and battery, and the ignition coil. There is a crack in the air box, not sure if this could be causing the problem? All of the sensors have been replaced numerous times. This is getting very frustrating as we believe that the problem is a simple fix, but nobody can figure out what the problem is? Many of our friends, my husband included, are mechanics (some backyard and some schooled), and nobody can figure out the problem. Please help!
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2013, 11:21 AM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Registered User
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Welcome to DF. Sounds like clogged cat and bad o2 sensor. I'll move your post to the 2nd gen ram section. The new member section is just for intro purposes.
__________________
2000 2500HD 4X4 5.9 and 4:10's,HF tuned SCT,Red-Head gear box, HS 1.7's,
50mm Fastman TB, Hughes Plate,2" Hell Bent ,Volant CAI
Flowmaster 50 series, Rock Solid Ram Steering fix,B&M trans cooler,fuzzy dice good for 5HP

Last edited by zman17; 06-30-2013 at 01:25 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2013, 01:21 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle: 01 1500 4wd
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TraciAsher View Post
Have replaced throttle body, plenum gasket, intake gasket, throttle body gasket, map sensor, IAC, throttle position sensor, all fuel injectors, distributor, plugs and wires, timing chain, head gaskets, heads, header pipes,header gaskets, transmission rebuilt with a tow package and shift kit, fly wheel and torque converter replaced, new alternator and battery, and the ignition coil. There is a crack in the air box, not sure if this could be causing the problem? All of the sensors have been replaced numerous times.
^ holy cow. that's everything.

the sucking sound is the normal sound of the IAC opening up more to try and maintain idle.

do this - rent a compression tester from your local parts store and do a compression test. write down the numbers and report back.
__________________
01 1500 Reg Cab 4wd 5.2 auto 3.55 285/75/16 steps tow hooks sc3815 180 3923 trans cooler filter posilok powertrax (removed) timbren britebox pioneer head rockford amp speaker cobra cb firestick hughes plenum water pump timing chain oil pump rear main hub bearings brakes shocks cracked dash cad bushings seals ujoints trackbar tcase Robert Griffin Trans

Last edited by dhvaughan; 06-30-2013 at 01:39 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2013, 01:27 PM
Ham Bone's Avatar
Ham Bone Ham Bone is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Vehicle: 01 1500(and a half?) 4x4
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 3,452
Mr Lambman
Default

You could reset your PCM. Worth a try.

Sounds like you have a bad IAC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2013, 01:29 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Registered User
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhvaughan View Post
^ holy cow. that's everything.
Except for cat and o2, (unless of course it's just not listed) plus it's stated that there is a power loss.
__________________
2000 2500HD 4X4 5.9 and 4:10's,HF tuned SCT,Red-Head gear box, HS 1.7's,
50mm Fastman TB, Hughes Plate,2" Hell Bent ,Volant CAI
Flowmaster 50 series, Rock Solid Ram Steering fix,B&M trans cooler,fuzzy dice good for 5HP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2013, 02:05 PM
TraciAsher TraciAsher is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

IAC just replaced for the third time yesterday.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2013, 02:06 PM
TraciAsher TraciAsher is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

replacing O2 sensor today, and have not cat due to header pipes. How to reset PCM? I read to unhook negative battery cable, turn key to start position for 30 seconds then reconnect the cable. did this this morning and it did not work. is there another way to reset? We also ordered new positive and negative battery cables, and crankshaft position sensor, which will be in tomorrow. I will have to tell my husband about renting the compression tester and see if we can figure something out.

Last edited by TraciAsher; 06-30-2013 at 02:14 PM.. Reason: added to original
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2013, 02:58 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Registered User
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Remove the negative cable BEFORE replacing any sensor. While you do the work the PCM will be reset by the time your done. And what brand parts are you getting? What brand is the IAC for instance? And what brand are you getting crank sensor? And was the distributor replaced or just the cap and rotor?
__________________
2000 2500HD 4X4 5.9 and 4:10's,HF tuned SCT,Red-Head gear box, HS 1.7's,
50mm Fastman TB, Hughes Plate,2" Hell Bent ,Volant CAI
Flowmaster 50 series, Rock Solid Ram Steering fix,B&M trans cooler,fuzzy dice good for 5HP

Last edited by zman17; 06-30-2013 at 03:00 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2013, 03:13 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle: 01 1500 4wd
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TraciAsher View Post
IAC just replaced for the third time yesterday.
iac - replace once, maybe twice if it acts different but still bad. after that move on to something else. the TPS has a interaction with idle, but since you've replaced it already, it rules it out.

the only sensors you haven't replaced yet are crank position and cam position. both are a little hard to reach and you're not experiencing stalling/no start, so there's no obvious reason to change them.

i didn't see PCV valve replacement? that's an easy and cheap one, and if bad, can cause a real bad vac leak.

has anyone with an expensive scanner done any checking yet?
__________________
01 1500 Reg Cab 4wd 5.2 auto 3.55 285/75/16 steps tow hooks sc3815 180 3923 trans cooler filter posilok powertrax (removed) timbren britebox pioneer head rockford amp speaker cobra cb firestick hughes plenum water pump timing chain oil pump rear main hub bearings brakes shocks cracked dash cad bushings seals ujoints trackbar tcase Robert Griffin Trans
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-30-2013, 04:13 PM
Ham Bone's Avatar
Ham Bone Ham Bone is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Vehicle: 01 1500(and a half?) 4x4
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 3,452
Mr Lambman
Default

Also, double check ALL your grounds
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-01-2013, 10:09 PM
JonWellen JonWellen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Default

xxxxx

Last edited by JonWellen; 07-01-2013 at 10:29 PM.. Reason: name
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-12-2013, 07:41 PM
johnpowers628 johnpowers628 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11
Default stalling missfiring idle a little rough

hi im new to the site looking for some help...

I have 1996 dodge ram 2500 5.9 gas 4x4.... that keeps stalling... i did full tune up, replaced plugs, wires, cap, rotor, crank sensor, cam sensor, saftey neutral switch, temp sensor on intake, new battery & Iac sensor.... I use to work on gm, i have never seen anything like this before... it will misfire or stall whenever it wants... I scanned it with snap on scanner multi misfire, 3 4 shift malfunction & circuit malfunction. Or it has no codes. The computer is losing power, its resetting the cranks. I took it to dealership they had said it was running fine died on the way home again... Any ideas???? thanks John please help im sick of paying for a damn tow
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-13-2013, 12:04 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpowers628 View Post
hi im new to the site looking for some help...

I have 1996 dodge ram 2500 5.9 gas 4x4.... that keeps stalling... i did full tune up, replaced plugs, wires, cap, rotor, crank sensor, cam sensor, saftey neutral switch, temp sensor on intake, new battery & Iac sensor.... I use to work on gm, i have never seen anything like this before... it will misfire or stall whenever it wants... I scanned it with snap on scanner multi misfire, 3 4 shift malfunction & circuit malfunction. Or it has no codes. The computer is losing power, its resetting the cranks. I took it to dealership they had said it was running fine died on the way home again... Any ideas???? thanks John please help im sick of paying for a damn tow
Read the plenum thread stickied at the top of this forum. Start there.
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-13-2013, 09:38 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle: 01 1500 4wd
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,207
Default

after the stall, does it immediately start back up, or does it require time or fiddling around?

if it doesn't restart, can you test for lack or spark, fuel, fuel pressure, 12v and switched ground at the coil?

coil ?
pcm?
asd relay?
fuel pressure?

you've replaced about everything. i'd see about getting a pcm and coil from the junkyard, preferable a you-pull-it where stuff tends to be cheap. don't give up you original pcm until its fixed and be cautious about buying rebuilts. lots of bad experiences there from a few places.

if you can get a no-start, see if any of this applies.
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-...ont-start.html
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-...ing-right.html
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-...r-to-coil.html
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-14-2013, 02:20 PM
johnpowers628 johnpowers628 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Ive also replaced coil too... When it dies the rpm gauge wont move... it has good spark from all plugs. I did a fuel pressure test too was fine. Also test back pressure test on cat that was good too. i was wondering if pcm is bad? but after throughing this much money at things that havent fixed it, i want to make sure that the pcm is bad before replacing it. The asd relay what does that control? how do i check that one? im not familiar with that one.... i did have a new code for coil malfunction as well & its new. the plenum gasket is under the throtle body? So this can cause misfires & stalls? I know place by my house has a few dodges there see about getting pcm there.. are the 1500 pcm work on 2500? if they got same motor & opions? thanks for your help!!! this has been a nightmare!!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-14-2013, 02:28 PM
johnpowers628 johnpowers628 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11
Default

sorry also when it dies it most of the time wont start back up... sometimes when you start messing with random wires or release fuel pressure on rail or sits awhile..... it will start back up..... after replacing iac sensor it quit popping, Hissing, back firing when it was about to die.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-14-2013, 02:32 PM
97r/tram's Avatar
97r/tram 97r/tram is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Vehicle: 1997 Dodge Ram 1500
Location: Loganville Ga
Posts: 461
Default

What about the Crank sensor?
__________________
1997 Dodge ram 1500 5.2 156,000 miles
37" Wrangler MTR Durawalls, 5" BDS- 2" Level. 5k Hids, Spectre CAI, March Underdrive pulley, Accel Coil. Cloyes Double roller, 50mm ebay tb. Bilstein 5100s front/ pc es9000 rear.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-14-2013, 02:36 PM
Wh1t3NuKle's Avatar
Wh1t3NuKle Wh1t3NuKle is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle: 1-Ton '00 ORE Ram 5.9L 4x4 SLT
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3,559
Default

Have you made sure the plug wires are routed per the TSB?


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpowers628 View Post
hi im new to the site looking for some help...

I have 1996 dodge ram 2500 5.9 gas 4x4.... that keeps stalling... i did full tune up, replaced plugs, wires, cap, rotor, crank sensor, cam sensor, saftey neutral switch, temp sensor on intake, new battery & Iac sensor.... I use to work on gm, i have never seen anything like this before... it will misfire or stall whenever it wants... I scanned it with snap on scanner multi misfire, 3 4 shift malfunction & circuit malfunction. Or it has no codes. The computer is losing power, its resetting the cranks. I took it to dealership they had said it was running fine died on the way home again... Any ideas???? thanks John please help im sick of paying for a damn tow
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97r/tram View Post
What about the Crank sensor?
__________________
Wh1t3Nukle

Toyo 37s M1 3link HP60/70 ARBs 14" coilovers doubler 4:1 tcase York;4sale spacer
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-18-2013, 12:38 PM
johnpowers628 johnpowers628 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11
Default

I replace crack sensor as well... I took it to Dodge dealership they did nothing died on the way home.... this is driving me nuts guys..... ughhhh
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-18-2013, 12:43 PM
johnpowers628 johnpowers628 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11
Default

I also run additional wires to pcm to battery to bypass if their is a shoet or bad wire to make pcm doesnt lose power... But I'm still at a loss, wires are run right to plugs..... the plenum gasket is fine as far as i can tell...... This is my first dodge & boy this is putting a bad taste in my mouth... I have friends that work at ATS here in Colorado maybe take it there??? What do you guys think? I'm lost at this point its like i dont have a truck...
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 12:43 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails