Max RPM's 1200 - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Max RPM's 1200

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 07-05-2013, 05:37 PM
Beau's Avatar
Beau
Beau is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 28
Default Max RPM's 1200


I am having trouble with a 1996 Ram 1500 with a 5.9L. Itwill idle great and with light throttle you can get the RPMís to about 1200.Any more and all it does is suck more air and starts missing. The truck hasbeen parked for about 4 months. It also has transmission problems, the reasonit was parked, but at that time it ran great. First thought was it had jumped timing,which checked out and is OK. Want to check fuel pressure but the fuel rail hasno Schrader valve. I think I have a fuel problem and would like to checkpressure before dropping the tank.

Also can the transmission cause any symptoms like I amseeing? THANKS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2013, 05:57 PM
dodge dude94
dodge dude94 is offline
Banned Goober Smoocher
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8,916
Default

Sounds like fuel pressure or a clogged cat to me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2013, 06:16 PM
Beau's Avatar
Beau
Beau is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 28
Default

Do you think the cat could plug while parked? Still need to find out how to check for fuel pressure. Thanks for the quick reply

Last edited by Beau; 07-05-2013 at 06:17 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2013, 06:22 PM
Arde
Arde is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dayton, TX.
Posts: 900
Default

Unscrew the pre-cat O2 sensor and see if it doesn't run better to check the cat. I think the auto parts stores sell a kit to test fuel pressure on the trucks without a schrader valve, but don't quote me on that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2013, 06:29 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

You have a black plastic fuel rail? Only 97's should have that. I have the adapter, but no auto parts store that I know of will have it. Had to order it special. And +1 on unscrewing the precat o2 from the pipe.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2013, 07:21 PM
Beau's Avatar
Beau
Beau is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 28
Default

After some creative thinking I was able to check the fuel pressure. At idle I have 48# fuel pressure, had a leak so I had to shut it down, did not check pressure above idle, going pull the O2 sensor and see. Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2013, 07:29 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

You need to fix the leak so you can check and see how fast it loses pressure after you shut the motor off. And do you have the plastic fuel rail? You should get a build sheet. http://www.dodge.com/wccsapp/univers...ull&category=R
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2013, 07:40 PM
Beau's Avatar
Beau
Beau is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 28
Default

Fuel rail is metal just no valve. When shut-down the pressure dropped about inline with leak. Can I post a video here
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2013, 07:42 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan
dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,203
Default

upload the video to photobucket or similar hosting site.
then put a link to it in your post.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2013, 07:44 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan
dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,203
Default

if you have 48# of fuel pressure when its running, that's normal. no need to work on fuel anymore other than to put it back together and not have a leak.

your problem is most likely clogged cat. remove front O2 as suggested.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
iwhitne
4th Gen Ram Tech
6
10-21-2015 06:29 PM
johnharvard78
1st Gen Durango
2
09-09-2015 12:39 AM
hondahunter1987
Archived Classifieds
1
04-12-2006 01:40 AM
njcoach
3rd Gen Ram Tech
1
10-07-2005 02:11 PM
gayle532
Archived Classifieds
0
01-21-2005 06:25 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send