2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Pittman PS arm seal leaking

Old 07-07-2013, 10:26 PM
missionwolf
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pittman PS arm seal leaking

Hello,

I am new to the thread and am seeking some guidance as to the feasibility of doing a DIY job of fixing a leaking PS seal on my Pittman arm. It is a 1997 Ram Laramie SLT pickup. I was quoted $500 for the repair. This seems steep, as the part does not at first glance seem to be a $300 part (assuming another $200 for labor). So, I have several questions: 1) Is the seal something that can be purchased separately and replaced or is it a special part that is incorporated into the arm (if so, what is the cost of an arm?)? 2) Does this part incorporate a hydraulic mechanism that leads to a high pressure environment while performing the repair? and 3) Does this job require the use of any specialized tools? Basically, I am wondering if I can reasonably expect to be able to do this myself and save $200 to $300. I appreciate your replies and guidance. Thanks,

Andrew

Old 07-07-2013, 10:55 PM
Matt Nickerson
Record Breaker

The seal kit is like $9.. but others report that it will eventually begin to leak again at that seal after the fix. Only way to permanently fix it is to get a to replace the whole steering box. You'll want to get a redhead or borgeson steering box and NOT a rebuild from an auto store or you'll wind up with the same problem.

Old 07-07-2013, 11:20 PM
AtomicDog
Champion
Received 297 Likes on 281 Posts