Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1998 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9L - Force Compressor on

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-25-2013, 09:26 AM
Joeziahbabb's Avatar
Joeziahbabb Joeziahbabb is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Default 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 5.9L - Force Compressor on

I can't get my A/C compressor to charge, I figure it is either the pressure sensor is bad or there isn't enough charge, but I can't charge it without the compressor running.

I know where the A/C Compressor terminal is but there are 5 terminals and I need to know which ones I need to bridge to force the compressor on.

there are two horizontal fins and 3 vertical fins.

_
_
|||

Which ones do I bridge?!

I can't find this terminal diagram in my Haynes manual, the one that is listed looks nothing like mine.

Thanks in advance!
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2013, 09:53 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 32,024
Default

Try jumping the low pressure switch first. Do you have one of the cans with a gauge? What is the gauge telling you?
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2013, 09:57 AM
gertie240 gertie240 is offline
Veteran
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 2001 Ram 1500 4x4
Location: Austin,Texas
Posts: 482
Default

if it is just low on Freon jump the plug on accum. /dryer with a paperclip
__________________
intake not leaking, cat not clogged, tranny replaced
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2013, 09:58 AM
gertie240 gertie240 is offline
Veteran
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 2001 Ram 1500 4x4
Location: Austin,Texas
Posts: 482
Default

also check the fuse in the PDC
__________________
intake not leaking, cat not clogged, tranny replaced
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2013, 05:25 PM
Joeziahbabb's Avatar
Joeziahbabb Joeziahbabb is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Default

I have a AC recharge kit, on the low pressure side it reads at a little over 100psi.

I want to try and get the compressor to cycle some refrigerant so that it can equalize and I will know if I need to actually recharge the system.

To my knowledge it hasn't ever leaked.

System is R134 by the way.

I checked the fuses, they are all good.

I will troubleshoot the sensor if cycling the compressor clutch on doesn't equalize pressures and allow the compressor clutch to kick in when it is supposed to.

Just need to know which holes to stick the paper clip in to force it on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2013, 06:23 PM
Timbo65h's Avatar
Timbo65h Timbo65h is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Vehicle: 1995 Dodge Ram
Location: Alabama
Posts: 38
Default

Try wiggling your A/C relay if that doesn't work try swapping it with a new one.
__________________
1995 SLT Laramie 4x4, SBRC, 5.2, Comp 20-744-9, Comp double roller, Comp springs, 8mm wires, Jeg's offroad y-pipe, flowmaster, ebay shorties, 285's.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2013, 07:16 PM
bjpomeroy bjpomeroy is offline
Amateur
1996 Dodge 1500
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Vehicle: 1996 Ram 1500 SLT 5.9L V8
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 45
Default

If you can, pull a vacuum on the system. It will suck in refrigerant when you charge it. Should be enough to get the compressor to start.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2013, 09:16 PM
Joeziahbabb's Avatar
Joeziahbabb Joeziahbabb is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Default

unfortunately - out of all the things my step dad has in his garage - a vacuum pump is not one of them.

Tried wiggling the AC relay but it won't do it, can I just run a cable strait off the battery to the clutch?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2013, 10:02 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 32,024
Default

I don't recommend that.

Try bypassing the switches, I bet it runs.
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2013, 08:46 AM
Joeziahbabb's Avatar
Joeziahbabb Joeziahbabb is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Default

Ok I tried forcing it on in the A/C compressor relay, no dice.

Only thing I can think of at this point is that the compressor is seized up, but that wouldn't mean the clutch wouldn't at least try to engage.

Maybe the clutch is bad?

If I pull the clutch off, how would I identify that?

If the pressure sensors were bad, they would have been over-rode when I bridged the connections in the compressor relay, correct?

*
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 08:46 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails