5.2 vs 5.9 flex plate/TC weights - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

5.2 vs 5.9 flex plate/TC weights

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 10-13-2013, 10:22 PM
AppelH
AppelH is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 532
Default 5.2 vs 5.9 flex plate/TC weights

So I hopped over from the Durango boards for the more active Ram boards since the motors are the same, and have my question narrowed down. I have been experiencing an rpm dependent vibration(both driving while parked) , and I think it is due to the previous owner swapping a 5.2 for the original 5.9. No clue why, and I don't think they did it on purpose. Since they didn't do it on purpose, I don't think they realized differences in the torque converter and flex plate for the two motors. Does anyone have input if this might be my issue, or a way to test it, or different ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2013, 10:23 PM
AppelH
AppelH is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 532
Default

I have confirmed I have the 5.2 per the stamp on the block, the build sheet says it came with the 5.9, and they didn't swap trannies so it still has the original 46re as best as I can tell
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2013, 10:51 PM
snowboundrmk's Avatar
snowboundrmk
snowboundrmk is online now
All Star
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 832
Default

Take a look at the balancer on the front and see if it has the 5.9 or the 5.2 one. I'm guessing if they changed it they changed the flex plate too and if they forgot they probably forgot the flex plate. Also if they didn't get that right or didn't know they changed to the 5.2 it has the wrong pcm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2013, 11:00 PM
AppelH
AppelH is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 532
Default

I always assumed they got the right pcm with the motor I guess I don't know for sure. And how do I check the balancer?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2013, 11:07 PM
AppelH
AppelH is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 532
Default

It's too dark out and the pcm was dirty, couldn't get a number off it. Isn't the code that the 5.9 has a Z in it, and the 5.2...?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2013, 12:05 AM
snowboundrmk's Avatar
snowboundrmk
snowboundrmk is online now
All Star
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 832
Default

Well here's a picture from my how to rebuild your mopar magnum book, and there's a picture from my 360 where you can see a slot cut out. Basically a 318 has a solid balancer and a 360 has a slot cut out somewhere(it may vary between years).


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2013, 12:18 AM
AppelH
AppelH is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 532
Default

OK I will be checking both tomorrow while it's light out. I can't imagine the balancer would have gotten changed, I would think when they dropped the 5.2 in they would have left it alone, which would mean it's the right one for the motor.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2013, 09:45 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 41,010
Default

In 00, the balance weights for the 5.9 were on the flexplate. If they left the plate that was on the engine there when they swapped it, should be golden.

Not just getting a miss on one cylinder are you?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-14-2013, 10:20 AM
AppelH
AppelH is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 532
Default

I think I mentioned it in my post on the Durango boards, but forgot it here. I think I do have a miss at idle, but never recognized it as a miss until someone brought it up. But it clears up, or seems to, above 1k rpm. If it is a miss do you think it could be coming back at high rpm to cause the vibratio? And do yyou think the miss is possibly a result of having the 5.9 pcm? I have yet to verify which one I have, will do it this afternoon.

As far as the flex plate, I have never had a motor that far apart. Is the order motor/flexplate/TC/transmission?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-14-2013, 10:43 AM
AppelH
AppelH is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 532
Default

And the problem is I have no idea if they left the flex plate on. I know it's a junkyard motor but who knows if it's they reused the flex plate. I also don't know what year the motor is, it may be different. Is the year stamped on the block?
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Mexii88
2nd Gen Neon
2
11-08-2015 03:10 PM
Moose843
3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech
5
09-16-2015 12:46 PM
HammerZ71
Diesel General Discussion
0
09-13-2015 10:20 AM
BadBenz94
3rd Gen Durango
4
09-09-2015 04:49 PM
COL
2nd Gen Ram Tech
3
09-05-2015 08:50 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send