Engine swap questions - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Engine swap questions

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 03-08-2014, 06:23 AM
97tn4x4
97tn4x4 is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,814
Default Engine swap questions

Ok before I get flamed for this let me explain. I have a 97 1500 4wd 5.9. It's got right at 220k and its beginning to tired I believe. Now I have a 5.2 out of a 92-94 Dakota that I put a hughes whiplash cam, headers and such into a project truck I have. I hate the idea of going backwards but the 5.2 only had barely over 120k when I got it and the heads were checked for cracks, reworked and a few more things done that I don't remember right now, the cam,valve springs, retainers, lifters and all that are 98% brand new ( maybe 45 minutes of runtime). So.... it's a half new motor and as bad as I'd like to rebuild the 5.9 it's 100% financially out of the question. I currently have a 50mm tb and a sct tuner on the truck and I am in the process of talking to hemifever about a tune. My question is, I know they started using a neutral balanced torque converter in 96 I believe. So would I use the old 5.2 or my current 5.9 flex plate or would I get a newer 5.2 flex plate?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2014, 09:26 AM
AtomicDog
AtomicDog is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central VA
Posts: 1,259
Default

You should ensure that there are no weights on the converter or the flexplate, as the 5.2 engine is internally balanced. Using a 5.2 flexplate will be the ticket, as my '96 Ram 5.9 flexplate had weights welded to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2014, 11:23 AM
KSteng89
KSteng89 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Snyder County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 81
Default

The 5.2s are internally balanced and the 5.9s are externally balanced on the flexplate... putting a 5.9 flex plate on a 5.2 will cause a wicked vibration and eventually internal damage. Same applies to putting a 5.2 flexplate on a 5.9.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2014, 06:20 PM
97tn4x4
97tn4x4 is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,814
Default

Well I know there's no weights on the converter. So I guess I'll use my tc and the other flex plate. This is gonna be a weekend project when it warms up. And how do I go about getting the fuel sync set?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2014, 06:25 PM
Johnn123's Avatar
Johnn123
Johnn123 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lakefield, Ontario
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 97tn4x4 View Post
Well I know there's no weights on the converter. So I guess I'll use my tc and the other flex plate. This is gonna be a weekend project when it warms up. And how do I go about getting the fuel sync set?
Have to have one expensive scanner, or head to a dealership IIRC.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2014, 07:06 PM
AtomicDog
AtomicDog is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central VA
Posts: 1,259
Default

Does anyone know right off if the old MT2500 (Red Brick) Snap On scanner can set the fuel sync?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-2014, 07:08 PM
stewie01's Avatar
stewie01
stewie01 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Posts: 8,891
Default

^ Would seem that way.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2014, 07:43 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 41,518
Default

2500 will set fuel sync. Just need to dig thru many, many layers of menus to find it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2014, 09:44 PM
97tn4x4
97tn4x4 is offline
Record Breaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,814
Default

How much would it cost to have the dealer set it?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2014, 10:16 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 41,518
Default

I can't see it being more than an hours labor....... but, that's just me. (In actuality, it will probably take him less than 15 minutes to do it.)
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Stone007
1st Gen Ram Tech
3
07-10-2015 09:10 PM
billy1stN4thGen
3rd Gen Ram Tech
1
07-09-2015 01:03 PM
rampuppy
Archived Classifieds
3
07-08-2015 04:10 AM
jrmikucki
2nd Gen Dakota
4
07-05-2015 04:09 PM
firedawg50
2nd Gen Ram Tech
1
07-05-2015 03:03 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send