2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1999 1500 5.2L 2wd Rear End Swap??

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2014, 01:27 PM
Bamabrat
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 1500 5.2L 2wd Rear End Swap??

I still have the scraping sound coming from the rear end (only at low speed and when I hit the gas pedal). A friend of mine said we could swap out the whole rear end. Well, you guys said that wouldn't be necessary. I was looking on craigslist for a chrome rim (the spare is installed as the 4th wheel on my truck right now) and I ran across this 1999 rear end with a broken axle.

Please keep in mind that I'm new at this and may ask a stupid question. Actually, i'm pretty sure i'll ask something stupid, but at this point, I don't know what I don't know, so I'm reaching out for help.

What do you think about this craigslist ad? Should I look into this, or pass and try to locate the problem myself. My thought was to replace my rear end with this one and use my axle (if it can be transferred to a new rear end). What am I not realizing?

http://atlanta.craigslist.org/nat/pts/4679237248.html

I have a 9 1/4 rear end on mine...stock.

Old 10-23-2014, 04:30 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,174 Likes on 2,927 Posts

I would be curious just HOW they broke the axle......

Think I would be more tempted to put your truck up on jackstands, let it idle along in drive, and see if you can find where the noise is coming from.

Old 10-26-2014, 06:00 AM
newman1367
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm going to guess and say that the one bent rim is the reason the axle shaft broke.

Old 10-28-2014, 02:55 PM
Bamabrat
Professional