2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Are cold intakes really worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2016, 03:29 PM
PJ97Ram
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are cold intakes really worth it?

I have the stock intake that ends at the fender, i also have a spectre CAI sitting in my living room. My fender is rusted to hell so fresh air goes into the intake tube to a K&N filter. Would the spectre CAI that would sit inside the engine compartment give any improvement or would nothing change or would it hurt performance? The stock intake getting the air from outside seems better to me but im no professional

Old 09-22-2016, 03:54 PM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 334 Likes on 298 Posts

If it's drawing air from the engine compartment, then no, it will not help and might hurt. Cold air intakes are basically snake oil anyway and mislabeled if they indeed draw in hot engine compartment air. Those should be referred to as hot air intakes...lol

The following users liked this post:
74 Cuda (01-10-2022)
Old 09-22-2016, 06:31 PM
WhiteSnake91
Professional
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I actually had the same question and judging by their design it seems like they just suck in the hot engine compartment air as well. It's weird that certain people online actually claim that using cold air intakes actually decrease their mpg instead of helping it like most people online claim it does

Old 09-22-2016, 07:26 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,171 Likes on 2,924 Posts

Most of the 'cold air intakes' marketed for our trucks draw air from the EXACT same place as the stock system. They may flow a little better at 5K+ RPM, but, since these aren't racing trucks, 99% of them never see it.