2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Torque converter problems? 46re

Old 02-12-2017, 04:15 PM
Scottmed1
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Torque converter problems? 46re

I just put a rebuilt 46re in my 2000 ram 1500 5.2l. When I first started it , it idled fine for 4-5 min then stalled while I was topping off the atf and would not start again for 2 hrs. Now it will start and idle in park or neutral for 4-5 min then I here a loud whine from the bell housing that seems to choke out the engine. After this happens it won't start again for 1-2 hrs and the same thing hAppens. I have little experience and took 3 months of weekends to pull and reinstall the transmission on the ground in a dirt driveway. It sounds like the noise is from the torque converter which I also replaced. Any thoughts on how to fix this would be appreciated . I also abandoned the stock cooler and put on an 11"X11" aftermarket one. The fluid level seems fine and when I do the key dance it shows "p done" which I believe means there are no codes saved

Old 02-12-2017, 04:51 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,168 Likes on 2,922 Posts

I wonder if the crank sensor didn't suffer from the trans swap? It's located right behind the passenger side head, and reads off the flex plate. If you didn't remove it for the trans R&R, chances are good it got crunched a bit. Might wanna pull it out, and see what it looks like. (it would make an interesting noise if it were contacting the torque converter/flexplate....)

Welcome to DF!

Old 02-12-2017, 05:16 PM
Scottmed1
Rookie