97 Ram dies when decelerating, but starts back up - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

97 Ram dies when decelerating, but starts back up

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 03-19-2017, 12:16 AM
Jedeka
Jedeka is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 9
Default 97 Ram dies when decelerating, but starts back up

I'm finishing up my winter project. I built a 97 1500 EC 4x4 with a 408 out of my rusty 94 Ram, 46RE trans, 241DLD and Dana 44/60 axle combo. The 97 came with a bad 5.2L. I have had it up and running around my shop and starts up every time with the key. I took it for a drive today and it stumbled a little when I got on the throttle. A mile down the road, I let off the throttle to make a right turn and the truck died. It fired right back up, but I don't remember if I pushed on gas pedal or not. I drove back a mile to the shop and it died again when making a turn. I will pull and clean IAC, but wondering if using the stock 5.2L ECM could cause this problem. I'm waiting for an SCT tune, but wanted to get a few easy miles on the truck to check over my work. I have 24# injectors and fuel pump pressure was at 45# when I first got the truck running. Thanks for any input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2017, 09:03 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 42,045
Default

You need a tune on the ecm for that 408 to run right. The 5.2 tune is going to be running incredibly lean on a 408..... That'll give you some odd performance problems......

Welcome to DF!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2017, 09:18 AM
Jedeka
Jedeka is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks. I will wait until my tune shows up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2017, 10:19 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 42,045
Default

Let us know how it works. And how you like it.

I wanted to do a 408 for my 96, but, that just wasn't in the budget.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2017, 10:34 AM
Jedeka
Jedeka is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Would a 5.9 ECM make it driveable until my tune? I have had the 408 in my 94 for several years. I used a piggyback tuner for the OBD l system. I started having some issues with it running and support didn't exist for the piggyback. The 408 was going in this 97, so I drove it a bit with the stock 5.9 ECM and ran fine. I knew that if I wanted to get the most out of the 408 and the 97 had a 5.2, a tune would be required. I'm on Flyin Ryan's list for a tune. The 408 is very responsive off idle and has plenty of torque. I had an issue with a small cam and my piston selection. Hughes engines helped me get it sorted out and I installed their Air Gap manifold. I will keep you posted on my tune.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2017, 10:36 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 42,045
Default

5.9 pcm would prolly be better, same issues, just to a smaller degree. In closed loop, the PCM *should* be able to compensate for more cubes.... but, in open loop, it is still gonna run lean.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2017, 11:19 AM
Jedeka
Jedeka is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 9
Default

That's exactly how it runs. Closed loop, it ran good when I drove it a mile down the road and back. Yesterday, the coolant temps got up to normal range on my way home and hesitated, had lean hiccups on acceleration, then died when I let off the throttle when I went to turn a corner. It looks like I will have to be patient until I get my tune. Thanks !!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2017, 11:24 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 42,045
Default

How old are your O2 sensors? Wonder if they are lying.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-19-2017, 12:11 PM
Jedeka
Jedeka is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Both o2 sensors are brand new. Previous owner let wires and connector touch the exhaust. I had to do some repair work/replacing on the wiring harness.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-19-2017, 02:05 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 42,045
Default

What brand sensors? Our trucks don't really care overmuch for the bosch fellers.

Cleaned the throttle body?
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 AM.