"failsafe" thermostat...anyone have it? - DodgeForum.com

Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Log In 

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

"failsafe" thermostat...anyone have it?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2006, 04:07 AM
Redone4x4's Avatar
Redone4x4 Redone4x4 is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Oct 2005
Vehicle: 04 QC HEMI 4wd
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,276
Send a message via Yahoo to Redone4x4
Default "failsafe" thermostat...anyone have it?

searched and found nothing. went to autozone looking for a 180 t-stat, and they had the "failsafe" one that automatically opens at 260 degrees. so i bought it...anyone have it or no? also, does the alternator need to be removed? im thinkin so...will i get the same results that a normal 180 t-stat will give?

"towing with 3.55's is like pedaling a bicycle into the wind"
Silver Truck Club Member #1 2004 4x4 QC 5.7 HEMI, 1999 Dodge Stratus
6" fabtech lift, 315/70/17 BFG A/T's on some eagles, TrailFX tube steps,limo tint
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 04:38 AM
fiveliterbtr fiveliterbtr is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 277
Default RE: "failsafe" thermostat...anyone have it?

You don't have to remove the alt., but it would make for easier access...see here, this adapter saves alot of time at work... http://www.dodgeforum.com/fb.asp?m=434089

My understanding of the failsafe t-stat, tho I've never used one, is that it can never stick closed...been the victim of a stuck closed t-stat before, 91 LeSabre, 90 degree weather, and cruising about 75...temp light come on! Alot of people say that t-stats don't/can't stick closed, but it's bs, 1sthand experience. I'd get it, it can't be any worse than a 'normal' t-stat.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 11:09 AM
Chopper1 Chopper1 is offline
All Star
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Va.
Posts: 928
Default RE: "failsafe" thermostat...anyone have it?


They have a few pics. with info. You can work out the hose and tstat housing together. If the heater hose clamp is in the way, which it probably will be, you can push/turn it with a screwdriver without taking it off. Trim off the tab once it's out..... I went with a stant tstat. I prefer to use name brand products. Haven't heard of the one your talking about. Then again, at 260, I'll be shutting it down anyway.
97 1500 Sport 5.9 Auto, 3" PA Body lift 4.56 Gears, 37x13.5x15 Claws on 15x10 rims, Flow Master, 2 MTX Amps, 4 Infinity's & 2 MTX 10's
3" Rancho lift coming off, 6" Dick Cepek lift in progress.
"Buy American, It Might Just Be Your Job You Save"
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 12:08 PM
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Default RE: "failsafe" thermostat...anyone have it?

i used to sell those when i wroked at oreillys and there junk. They will fail with in the first two weeks and you will be stuck with an open dt-stat. save your self the trouble and get a ultra stat from stant. better construction, better part, name brad.

thats the one iam running for two years now and no problems
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 02:02 PM
shott8283 shott8283 is offline
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bett-neee
Posts: 3,810
Send a message via AIM to shott8283 Send a message via Yahoo to shott8283
Default RE: "failsafe" thermostat...anyone have it?

along wiht hypertech.. they sell a crappy tstat... go to napa... best parts for the price!!!! myself and another member here had a hypertech fail on them.. although ours were stuck open... in the middle of winter .. almost as bad as sticking closed[:@]
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 02:38 PM
jalapeenoz jalapeenoz is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 115
Default RE: "failsafe" thermostat...anyone have it?

Ditto on the Hypertech. Mine failed also. I replaced it with a Stant Superstat and no problems.
02 Durango SLT 4x4
Fastman TB
Cherry Bomb Pro
Flowmaster polished SS turndown
True Flow drop in
Power Wire
Superchips 3715
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 02:47 PM
dodge_boy31807 dodge_boy31807 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 173
Send a message via Yahoo to dodge_boy31807
Default RE: "failsafe" thermostat...anyone have it?

I bought the same t-stat that you did and I haven't had any problems out of it yet and it has been in there for a good while now. Mine is also fail-safe. When I replaced the t-stat in mine I did have to pull the alt. off because it made everything easier to get to. But its up to you on that one.
Dodge the Father, RAM the Daughter!!
Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radiator which one too get tspeed109 2nd Gen Dakota 20 06-04-2015 07:09 AM
Try an solve this temp problem Lemunman 2nd Gen Ram Tech 21 04-10-2012 08:02 PM
Anyone running a Failsafe Thermostat ? neilb 1st Gen Durango 6 04-08-2011 12:22 AM
Overheat after changing radiator 1997DodgeRam 2nd Gen Ram Tech 13 11-16-2010 08:29 AM
'98 Durango overheating problem tripellex 1st Gen Durango 6 10-20-2007 06:32 AM

06, 1500, durango, fail, failsafe, falesafe, forum, good, junk, picture, ram, safe, stant, thermostat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 AM.