2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Common 5.9 motor (gas “ issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2019, 10:15 PM
Slightlycrazy
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Common 5.9 motor (gas “ issues

Hello, I’m new to dodge engines so I don’t know the idiosyncrasies. Bought a 2000 ram w/ 5.9 gas motor. Ran a little off w/ some smoke so I did the aftermarket plenum upgrade. Started up great, smoke appeared gone and performance issues were gone. After driving it a couple times it started smoking pretty bad, this time both tailpipes, idle a little off and misfire codes on #1 and #8. You would think the plenum fix failed, but the sluggishness and shifting issues are still gone along with the weird whistle I used to hear at cruise speed. While it’s idling I hear a loud suction noise, figure it’s just air sucking through the air box but didn’t know if it was normal. I wouldn’t think that was a leak because the engine wouldn’t stay running.

Any ideas or even general things related or not to look for with the 5.9 would be helpful. I’ve always had GM cars (don’t shoot me) but nowfind myself with 3 dodge/ Chrysler vehicles.

Last edited by jkeaton; 03-28-2019 at 07:47 AM.
Old 03-27-2019, 10:41 PM
MoparFanatic21
Legend
Received 306 Likes on 298 Posts

Originally Posted by Slightlycrazy