3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

2010 Dodge Dakota SXT 4WD 4.7 L

Old 10-03-2013, 11:13 PM
billcostain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2010 Dodge Dakota SXT 4WD 4.7 L

Last January I got a letter from Chrysler Canada, to recall my dakota. Apparently the rear pinion nut on the rear axle may may have been put on missing the coating on the nut. I waited six months, and on July 26, 2013 I took my vehicle in and the worked was performed. I took it in for eight am and I received a call at about noon time telling me that they had to keep it longer due to the mechanic having to get spec's on how to do the job. Wednesday October 2, 2013 I took it back into the dealership because of a prominent noise coming from the rear of the truck. After a couple of hours they phone me and inform me that the rear axle bearing is shot and it will cost fourteen hundred dollars to repair. As I'm not a mechanic I don't know if the recall work has anything to do with my newest problem. It just makes me wonder after only two months I have a major problem. I asked them at the pickup desk and I was informed that it was just coincidental. Does anyone have any thoughts. Bill

Last edited by billcostain; 10-05-2013 at 10:34 AM. Reason: Alll issues have been resolved
Old 10-04-2013, 07:39 AM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 334 Likes on 298 Posts

Welcome to DF! Please post your technical questions in the 3rd gen Dakota section. This section is for reporting issues and concerns with the Dodge Forum internet site.

Old 10-04-2013, 08:07 AM
lghtngblt02
The RAM Administrator
Received 22 Likes on 10 Posts

Welcome to Df. I moved this to the proper section. I'm not to familiar with the recall, but I'm sure someone will chime in that is. I'll also look into it once I'm not mobile and give my input.

Old 10-04-2013, 10:59 AM
kenttt
Professional

Depends what bearing that's bad.