1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

86 w150 318 V8 engine removal

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2013, 12:05 AM
86Dodgeman
Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 86 w150 318 V8 engine removal

I was working with my buddy(i am new to this so I enlisted a friend who is car savy) to pull my 318 out of my 86 ram w150 for a rebuild and when we tried hoisting the motor out it was binding up on the passenger side. We looked underneath and the fly wheel is BIGGER than the bell housing it needs to pass through to come out. The drivers side teeth of the fly wheel are already touching the bell housing and the pass side has a lip inside the housing that completely covers the teeth of the flywheel. I have no idea how to get it out. Am I missing something special I need to do? It's a manual so do I need to be in a certain gear? I don't even understand how they got it in as the trans shaft is still in the motor at this point so it is not like you can rock it back and forth to get around the lip inside the bell housing. Someone please help.

Old 11-24-2013, 10:48 PM
johnnyjaws98
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

put a jack under the trans with a piece of wood and jack up the trans a little it should cone out then

Old 11-24-2013, 11:46 PM
moe7404
Record Breaker

after a few over hauls. i should have some ideas. but at the moment all i can think of is be sure and put brass soft plugs in. and take good care of the fly wheel bolts there are not off the shelf. but they should be available from chrysler. and do use anti-seize compound on ALL bolts on the bottom of the truck. and dont forget the exhaust system bolts.

Old 11-25-2013, 08:24 AM
crazzywolfie
Legend
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts