Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Dakota > 3rd Gen Dakota
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Dakota 2005+ Dakota's

Speedometer Doesn't Work

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-30-2011, 08:32 PM
weiner78 weiner78 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default Speedometer Doesn't Work

I've been looking for some information here as this forum has helped me out many times before. I've got a 2005 ST that's auto, a 4.7L and 4x4 that recently the speedometer works intermitently. I'm throwing a P0501 code stating that there's something wrong with the vehicle speed sensor. Is the speed sensor located on the differential housing or is it located on the transmission? I've been told conflicting information on this and don't know what to try. Any help would be much appreciated.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2011, 09:42 PM
rengnath's Avatar
rengnath rengnath is offline
Champion
2013 RAM 1500
My Garage
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 2013 RAM 1500 Quad Cab
Location: Greenfield, Wisconsin
Posts: 3,683
Default

There may be a speed sensor in the rear axle for the ABS brakes, but the speed sensor you are looking for should be on the transmission.

If you download the service manual from the FAQ section stickied in the 3rd gen dak section, information on how to remove the output speed sensor is on page 4403 of 5249. Looks like you will need a drain pain and some spare ATF+4 to top of the trans when you are done. This is all assuming you have the 545-rfe transmission.
__________________
2013 RAM 1500 HEMI Quad Cab 4x4 - Bright Silver
20" Chrome Clads, 3.55 Limited Slip, 32 Gallon tank, MBRP Pro Series split rear exhaust, OEM Tow hooks, Curt Class IV w/ Andersen Rapid Hitch, Tint, Ventshades, Mopar drop-in liner, Weathertech Digital Fit mats, DBALL2 RSR Module w/ SmartStart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2011, 09:48 PM
ericemery
Guest
Garage is empty, add now
 
Posts: n/a
Default

/\

What he said.

Welcome to DF.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2011, 09:20 AM
rick4dak rick4dak is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 308
Default

The speed sensor on my '05 is on the rear diff. Because it's there, when I switched to 4.10 gears, the speedo showed the correct speed without having to change anything and without recalibrating it or changing the setting with my SC tuner.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2011, 02:45 PM
weiner78 weiner78 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks everyone for the help. I was looking into the speed sensors on the transmission. There are two: one is for input and the other is for output. I'm going to pick up the output sensor as I'm assuming this is the one that's gone bad. Looks like the input and output part numbers are the same. Maybe I'll do both while I'm under there.

Last edited by weiner78; 03-31-2011 at 03:36 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2011, 02:46 PM
weiner78 weiner78 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

I wanted to post an update to this thread as I did find the problem. It was not the speed sensor on the diff housing or the input/output sensors on the transmission. It was the actual ABS module itself. After replacing all these sensors with no luck, I started troubleshooting the CAN-BUS system with a 4 channel scope. The input voltage to the speed sensor would show correctly when I first started the vehicle. After it ran for a few seconds, the voltage would go through the roof. A good friend was able to use an old dodge diagnostic tool to check the PCM, and it was working fine. I did some more tests with the ABS module and decided I'd replace it with a used unit. I found one from a reputable scrap yard for $85. Took about 45 minutes to install and the speedo works again plus the ABS light is out. Luckily, this module must have had the right correction factor in it because my speedometer readings are correct. The biggest pain was to bleed the brake system correctly. To prime an ABS unit, you need the STAR system (or you're suppose to use one). I got around this my doing a bunch of emergency stops to force it to kick in, then rebled the brakes.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:46 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails