3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Trans Temp Light

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2014, 03:39 AM
gogetta628
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have this same problem especially in the summer months. I am a mechanic and when i went to a class for a certification through work I asked the instructor. He wasnt too familiar with the issue and mentioned it being electrical or the sensor as possibilities but youre exactly right when the sensor tells the computer the fluid is hot and it trips your trans temp light the light being on is why you arent shifting properly, that would be the transmission telling the computer it needs to cool down and the computer may have it skip gears or turn off the overdrive, things like that. which explains why it drives fine when the light is off. I did a trans fluid exchange and still had the same problem even after. I have yet to figure out what it is but my guess may be something with the sensor or just overheating from use in which case adding a trans cooler may not be a bad idea! the trans fluid echange itself wont solve the problem thats more of preventive maintenance but since we already have a problem it will continue no matter how many times we change the fluid. that being said oil breaks down and gets contaminates and older used oil/transfluid that has broken down can be easier to heat up so the exchange may help but wont solve the issue. hopefully I wrote that in a semi coherent way... if not i did type it at 4 am lol

Old 12-06-2014, 12:18 PM
kenttt
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm wondering if the temp sensor can be pulled and bench tested?
Any one have specs for that unit?
Then again, maybe the harness connector is dirty and/or corroded and a good cleaning of the contacts might help?

Old 12-09-2014, 10:47 AM
superdak05
Champion
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts