Need new starter? - Page 2 - DodgeForum.com


3rd Gen Dakota 2005+ Dakota's

Need new starter?

Reply
 
 
  #11  
Old 01-28-2017, 08:07 AM
dodgeman1977
dodgeman1977 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman7000 View Post
Update: I rented an OBDII scanner and got several codes, but cleared them out. I was left with the following 2 codes:

P0633 SKIM secret key not stored in PCM
P0513 Invalid SKIM key

I assume that my conversion to power window/locks and keyless entry are what have caused these errors. My PCM wasn't programmed for it so I guess that's why its not allowing it to start. its been fine for the past 2 months since I switched it over so its weird that it would show up now. Oh well, I guess a tow trip to the stealership is next.
Unfortunately yes, you will need dealer assistance at this point. I don't think it is related to your addition of power locks/windows, this sounds like the transponder chip info got erased. Usually this happens due to a magnetic field strong enough, which could be similar to the demagnitizers at the store check out counter. The dealer will have to use the computer to reprogram.
Please update once it resolved, I would like to know how it all went.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-01-2017, 08:11 AM
wingman7000
wingman7000 is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 41
Default

Update: So the truck has been at the dealer for a couple of days now and all they are saying is I need a new PCM. I took them the PCM from the other truck and they put it in, but they're still getting an invalid key error. I took the second key yesterday to see if it would work, but they didn't have the SKIM module connected so it would work and ended up locking up the second PCM. I hope that after 24 hours it will reset and I'll try the second key again, but I'm feeling extremely defeated. I don't want to pay the dealership $1,600 for a new PCM. I found this site that sells "remanufactured" units. Has anyone had experience with replacing one like this?
http://www.acrautos.com/2006-dodge-d...-computer.html
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-15-2017, 09:02 AM
wingman7000
wingman7000 is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 41
Default

So I shipped my PCM to a company (not the one in my last post) that refurbishes them and they were able to erase the error codes. I plugged it in and it started right away. I reconnected the keyless entry and remote starter and it all works again.

Lesson learned: NEVER take it to the stealership again.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send