Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Dakota > 3rd Gen Dakota
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Dakota 2005+ Dakota's

Reset MIL

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-14-2007, 04:16 PM
AlaskaMan AlaskaMan is offline
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Reset MIL

Does anyone know how to reset the MIL light on the dash of a 2005 Dakota? I changed my spark plugs at 30K miles and when I started it up the engine light was on. I have since driven it from Florida to Alaska and put on another 3-4K miles without any problems. I've had to replace the battery so disconneting that didn't work. That light is annoying!
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________
Alaska Man
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2007, 05:42 PM
Casper50 Casper50 is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 481
Default RE: Reset MIL

You have toleave the battery disconnected for at least15 minutes. If that still doesn't work then go to your local auto parts store, that does diagnostic scans for free like Auto Zone if you have them up there, and have them pull the code tell you what it isand then erase it.
__________________



Jap Crap Dak!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2007, 07:58 PM
luvmydak's Avatar
luvmydak luvmydak is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 435
Default RE: Reset MIL

Something else you could try: disconnect NEG batt. cable, turn ignition toSTART and hold for 15-20 sec.(PCM reset)Then reconnect batt. cable and see MIL light is out. If this doesn't work, have a scan done at a shop you trust.
__________________
nra4evr
StageII Jet chip
180 t'stat
Fastman Mod TB
Westin Platinum Series step bars
Westin Platinum Series Bull Bar w/KC lites
K&N CAI
Access Roll-up tonneau
Flowmaster cat-back
AMI fuel door,stubby antenna
Royal Purple motor oil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2007, 12:49 AM
ericemery
Guest
Garage is empty, add now
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: Reset MIL

umm. this may be a stupid question. does the disconnect neg batt connection and hold for 20 sec work for after you put the chip in too? I know you have to do something after you install a chip, I just dont remember what. and dont feel like searching. My cable is out, so I am on dial up tonight, and most likly the rest of the week.

as for turning off the light... I also suggest autozone. or a reliable shop. just to make sure you dont have any little gremlins hiding in there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:34 AM
AlaskaMan AlaskaMan is offline
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default RE: Reset MIL

I finally got a chance to try your suggestions Casper50 & luvmydak. Thanks for the suggestions; however, no luck. Unfortunately there are no Auto Zones or other auto stores that will do a free diagnostic scan, that I am aware of in Alaska, so I guess I'll just have to take it to a local garage if the MIL light continues to bug me.
__________________
Alaska Man
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:52 AM
jimboscomp's Avatar
jimboscomp jimboscomp is offline
All Star
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 989
Send a message via ICQ to jimboscomp Send a message via AIM to jimboscomp
Default RE: Reset MIL

I've taken mine to sears, if they dont find anything wrong they dont charge you, do you have a Sears where you are? My family's always gone to sears for engine check lights and battery related stuff.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:45 PM
AlaskaMan AlaskaMan is offline
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default RE: Reset MIL

Thanks Jimmy, good idea. Next time I'm in Anchorage I'll have them check it out. However, since it's not really a problem, just an annoyance and Anchorage is a five hour drive each way it'll have to wait until I have to make a trip for up there for some other reason.
__________________
Alaska Man
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2007, 05:05 PM
ericemery
Guest
Garage is empty, add now
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: Reset MIL

dude, I would just go to walmart and buy a code scanner. use it to make sure nothings wrong, then return it and say it didn't work on your truck... or keep it for the next time.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2007, 12:30 PM
02wrangler 02wrangler is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Windsor, MO
Posts: 111
Default RE: Reset MIL

Hey alaskaman,
I'm up here in Alaska as well. Look for a Schuck's Autoparts store, they are just about everywhere, same thing as an auto-zone or Advanced auto parts. They will do a free diagnostic scan for you.
__________________
2005 Dodge Dakota, V8 4.7L, 6 speed manual, K&N Air filter, flow master 40 series exhaust, 2" trailmaster front leveling kit and 2" rear lift blocks, 265/75/16 BFG AT's K&N FIPK
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/302
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2007, 01:01 PM
ericemery
Guest
Garage is empty, add now
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: Reset MIL

awe schucks... thats a great name for a store!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 01:01 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Tags
button, dakota, dodge, hold, mil, reset, resetting, trip

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails