3rd Gen Durango 2011+ models

DIY: Bumper/Head Light Removal

Old 09-24-2011, 02:18 PM
darkmanrob85
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY: Bumper/Head Light Removal

Ok guys/girls, here is a the DIY steps to remove the bumper and head lights. I'm no mechanic but I was able to remember the steps my future brother in-law did to remove my bumper/head lights the first time.

Before we start I HIGHLY suggest you go and pick up this tool(pictured below) before we start. It's called a Door Upholstery Remover. It cost like $7 or $8. I got it from Advanced Auto Parts, but Autozone should have it as well. It makes it really easy to remove the clips and undo the weather stripping under the hood

I didn't take any pictures of taking off the plastic covering and weather stripping to expose the head light housing because simpsonsrOck did it in the DIY:Head Light Bulb/HID Install. Use the Door Upholstery Remover to remove the clips and weather stripping. Link below:
https://dodgeforum.com/forum/3rd-gen...d-install.html

Now in the wheel well. You will see two screws and two rivets. Remove both of them. FYI...when you remove the rivets you will not be able to put them back in. They are basically used to hold in the wheel well liner. You can get clips to put in there place from the dealer or ebay.

FYI...in my picture the rivets are already gone because I previously removed the bumper before..

Now that those screws are out, disconnect your fog lights.

Now underneath the bumper you need to remove 3 black plastic twist tabs(I don't know what they are called) and two silver screws(one screw on both sides). Pic below of plastic twist tab and silver screws:

To remove the side molding just gently pull/tug on the molding till you remove it just past the bumper line.

Now to remove the bumper. Start on one side, genitally tug on the bumper to remove it from the car. You will hear some unsnapping but don't be alarmed its ok. Just do it carefully.