3rd Gen Durango 2011+ models

Catch Can - dumb question

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2014, 02:26 PM
Leman
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Catch Can - dumb question

I am seeing some smoke (blue) from my 2014 Hemi. My last 2011 Hemi did do the same under 10Kms, and used more oil, then it settled down. I am seeing some information about catch cans on this forum, so my dumb question is :-

Should I fit one, and why is there not one already installed.

There official dumb question.

Apart from that, having one of the few 2014 (only?) in Geneva, Switzerland means I actually have people taking photos of it, especially at night! I love this thing. A good improvement over my 2011.

Old 03-30-2014, 03:08 PM
MoparMan1991
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My 2014 has never blown smoke so I have no experience with this. I am interested in what others have to say though.

Old 03-30-2014, 04:08 PM
FSTDANGO3
Champion

Nothing much at all has changed with the motor from your 2011 to your 2014. I would recommend a catch can. There is a special design to teh intake manifold that is supposed to catch the oil and hold it, but it doesnt quite do the job and what Dodge engineers feels is an acceptable amount of oil to use and burn is not what I would like to see passing thru my motor
STEVE

Old 03-30-2014, 04:22 PM
Wash Man
All Star

Originally Posted by FSTDANGO3
Nothing much at all has changed with the motor from your 2011 to your 2014. I would recommend a catch can. There is a special design to teh intake manifold that is supposed to catch the oil and hold it, but it doesnt quite do the job and what Dodge engineers feels is an acceptable amount of oil to use and burn is not what I would like to see passing thru my motor STEVE
Same here, no smoke for my 14' Hemi, but I am catching 1 oz per 1000 miles in my catch can

Old 03-31-2014, 09:12 AM
mcfarl58
Veteran