3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 3rd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Can I tow 10,000 pounds?

Old 09-05-2011, 02:20 PM
dbelkie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I tow 10,000 pounds?

Hey guys!

Sorry if this question seems a bit silly, but im kinda new to this

I have a Ram 2008 2500 HD. It is gas not diesel. I want to see about getting into RV'ing, so my brother in law has offered me his 26ft 5th wheel if I wanna try it out for a week. I first thought this was going to be no problem, but after reading online, I am find many conflicting stories... things like short boxes should not pull 5th wheels etc etc.

My bro-in-law pulls his with a RAM diesel.

The trailer is about 9800 pounds fully loaded.

My thought was to go get a hitch put in..... I figure it is not money wasted as im getting the use of the trailer for free...... however if we like it.... im thinking the truck will need to be traded for a diesel?

Basically....... am I crazy for trying to pull this RV with my 5.7 hemi next week?

Thanks in advance guys!
Dan

Old 09-06-2011, 12:09 AM
jasonw
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts

Welcome to DF.

First, before anything else, please read this:
https://dodgeforum.com/forum/dodge-ra...s-section.html

I will move you to the 3rd Gen Ram section (2002-2008 Rams).

Old 09-06-2011, 01:24 AM
BadHazard
Professional

I have seen guys pull 5th wheels all the time with shortbeds. And even with gas trucks. However; I've never seen anything that big/heavy pulled with a gas. Im pretty sure the max is 9100lbs given the best gears. I wouldn't try it. Trade in on a cummins.

Old 09-06-2011, 03:10 AM
Owensue
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You can check here for tow ratings... http://www.dodge.com/towing/D/vehicl...vehicleFamily=

Old 09-06-2011, 04:05 AM
Harrison0550
Amateur