3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Limited Slip differential?

Old 01-23-2009, 05:04 PM
zoom2811
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Limited Slip differential?

How can i tell if my truck has a limited slip differential.The sticker in my glove box just says that i have 3.92 gears and nothing else.And what are the advantages of having a LSD?(Sorry,I'm a noob)

Old 01-23-2009, 05:07 PM
dirtydog
Moderate User
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 18 Likes on 9 Posts

LSD =Boom

Seriously, they break notoriously.
Better traction 2 wheel grip vs one wheel peel.
Open diff(one wheel peel) is actually better in the snow. You don't slide sideways as the LSD tends to do

I'm in the midst of getting a Detroit carrier in my diff and replacing my stock LSD

Old 01-23-2009, 07:00 PM
lharrell79
Rookie
Cool

If you want to know if you have one:

1. Back your truck out into the street.
2. Press on the brakes.
3. Now press on the gas.
4. Once the rear tires start smoking real good, let off the brake.
5. Go back and observe the tire marks.

1 skid mark most likely means you have no LSD. 2 skid marks most likely means you have an LSD.

Or you could read the tag on your rear diff, and post what it says in this thread. We could probably tell from that.

Lucas

Old 01-23-2009, 07:02 PM
lharrell79
Rookie

I forgot to mention, like DirtyDog said, if you here a loud BOOM while performing the test above; then it's pretty safe to say you used to have an LSD.

Lucas

Old 01-23-2009, 07:06 PM
06CountryBoy5.7
Professional