3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

DMH Electric Cut Out...

Old 04-01-2009, 03:38 PM
EJM05
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DMH Electric Cut Out...

Hey everyone.

If i buy a electric cut out, should i bring it to a muffler shop to get it installed. I have no tools for the install and i'm not good with installations. Also, can they do the electrical part? What type of shop should i bring it to to get it done? Muffler shop or Car customization shop.

Thanks

-Erik

Old 04-01-2009, 04:27 PM
Off_Road_Teacher
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by EJM05
Hey everyone.

If i buy a electric cut out, should i bring it to a muffler shop to get it installed. I have no tools for the install and i'm not good with installations. Also, can they do the electrical part? What type of shop should i bring it to to get it done? Muffler shop or Car customization shop.

Thanks

-Erik
The install is pretty easy, but if you don't have tools you should probably take it to an exhaust shop. The wiring is super easy, that part you can do without almost any tools. If I remember correctly, it is only two wires to the switch and then plug into the cutout. If you need help with the wiring PM me and I will walk you through it. Would hate to see you spend money on something like wiring a cutout.

Old 04-01-2009, 04:34 PM
codiac
Professional

My QTP came w/ the "y" style pipe that I had the muffler shop weld in, and the electric cutout part bolted to the flange on the y, which i did when i got home since I would need to run the wire anyhow.