Bull Bar install - DodgeForum.com


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Bull Bar install

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 08-12-2009, 02:00 AM
05RamMan
05RamMan is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 575
Default Bull Bar install

has anyone installed a bull bar on there 1500? I bought one off ebay and got it yesterday. The instructions are non-existent. What I can't figure out for sure is, Do I neeed to pull the bumper off to get the brackets on or do they slide in there somehow.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2009, 08:24 AM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe
weedahoe is offline
Hall Of Fame
Hall of Fame Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South GA
Posts: 19,154
Default

IDK about a bullbar as I have a full grill guard but some of my brackets went through the bumper where the tow hooks go and some went through the lower air dam itself.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2009, 09:51 AM
nim81's Avatar
nim81
nim81 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: fredericktown
Posts: 2,400
Default

my bull bar connects where the tow hooks go, if you have the black plastic insert in your bumper youll have to take it out, didnt have to remove my bumper, hopefully this will help.. its for a westin but i would imagine theyre all pretty much alike... there are instructions on this page http://www.westinautomotive.com/index.html

and here is a pic of mine...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2009, 08:47 PM
05RamMan
05RamMan is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 575
Default

Thanks man, Your bull bar looks exacatly like how I think mine is supposed to mount. Do you know if there is anyway to cut the insert back to hide the install, Or do you just have to live without the insert?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2009, 10:16 PM
nim81's Avatar
nim81
nim81 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: fredericktown
Posts: 2,400
Default

there is really no way at all i could figure out how to cut the insert and fit it back. i tried and racked my brain and finally gave up.
i need to get some black paint and paint the chrome bolts i used....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2009, 11:02 PM
ried69
ried69 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,676
Default

If you want to, just cut the valence first, then mount the brackets. But I don't really even notice that mine is missing with the bull bar. And to get the brackets on, just turn them sideways to get them in, don't leave them on the bull bar. Post up pictures when you're done.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2009, 01:41 AM
05RamMan
05RamMan is offline
Captain
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 575
Default

Do you have to cut the valence out? Or is can it be removed w/o destroying it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2009, 03:53 AM
cheapbeater
cheapbeater is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Posts: 1,550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05RamMan View Post
Do you have to cut the valence out? Or is can it be removed w/o destroying it?

mine had some crappy plastic screws with some kind of expanding plastic nut thing holding it on on the top... i stripped the **** out of the screws and had to cut them off with a wire cutter
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2009, 04:41 AM
OklaHemi's Avatar
OklaHemi
OklaHemi is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma
Posts: 3,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ried69 View Post
If you want to, just cut the valence first, then mount the brackets. But I don't really even notice that mine is missing with the bull bar. And to get the brackets on, just turn them sideways to get them in, don't leave them on the bull bar. Post up pictures when you're done.
get some new pics ried. i know your in school and all but c'mon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2009, 12:40 AM
ried69
ried69 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OklaHemi View Post
get some new pics ried. i know your in school and all but c'mon
I need to get on our home computer. Haven't been on one all summer, so I need to make a new sig. Yes, I know, I need to get some pictures with the actual camera, not my phone.

To get my valence off, I got half of the screws out, then stripped out the other ones. So I just grabbed the one half of the valence, and pulled the crap out of it. These damn plastic screws are hard to get out without destroying them.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
cutthroatxxx
2nd Gen Ram Tech
10
08-22-2015 05:59 PM
Howard D. Legan
2nd Gen Durango
0
08-19-2015 09:33 PM
bonipie
Dodge Caravan
1
08-10-2015 03:54 PM
mov
Dodge Charger
0
08-06-2015 08:58 AM
roadhammer1971
2nd Gen Ram Tech
16
07-07-2015 12:12 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send