Installing Power Door Locks? - DodgeForum.com



3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Installing Power Door Locks?

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 01-29-2010, 09:44 PM
chasmanz28
chasmanz28 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 36
Default Installing Power Door Locks?

My Ram is a ST model, want to install power locks. Im ok with the windows not having power just want the locks to open. What are you guys useing to achive this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2010, 12:13 PM
Mech
Mech is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Door locks are not that complex at all.
You will need `door actuators` (1 per door) a 2 way switch and a few SPDT relays.

The actuators are mounted static so they dont move at all...the rod is attached to the same rod that you pull to unlock the door manually. You will have to play with it/test it to make sure its not in a bind and locking/unlocking clean.

Wiring is not too bad either, just depends on how you want the switch/switches to work. Each actuator has 2 wires (pos and neg) run them all from each door to the same location ( under the dash on the drivers side would be ideal, so you can use the ignition harness for power).

After that, its all about how you want the switches to work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2010, 03:10 AM
chasmanz28
chasmanz28 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mech View Post
Door locks are not that complex at all.
You will need `door actuators` (1 per door) a 2 way switch and a few SPDT relays.

The actuators are mounted static so they dont move at all...the rod is attached to the same rod that you pull to unlock the door manually. You will have to play with it/test it to make sure its not in a bind and locking/unlocking clean.

Wiring is not too bad either, just depends on how you want the switch/switches to work. Each actuator has 2 wires (pos and neg) run them all from each door to the same location ( under the dash on the drivers side would be ideal, so you can use the ignition harness for power).

After that, its all about how you want the switches to work.
Yeah kinda figured on the install. Heres what im thinking about buying on ebay what do you think. http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...K%3AMEWAX%3AIT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2010, 05:06 PM
Polishdog
Polishdog is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 32
Default

I'm doing the same thing on my 99.

I'm planning on getting this: http://www.commandoalarms.com/itm100034.htm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2010, 09:12 PM
chasmanz28
chasmanz28 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polishdog View Post
I'm doing the same thing on my 99.

I'm planning on getting this: http://www.commandoalarms.com/itm100034.htm
On that system your getting where is the actuators?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2010, 04:38 AM
Polishdog
Polishdog is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 32
Default

Picked up two actuators in a separate auction.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
PX
3rd Gen Ram Tech
9
07-19-2015 06:46 PM
Prismatic
3rd Gen Ram Tech
1
07-17-2015 06:39 PM
ddareddevil
Dodge Charger
1
07-13-2015 12:52 PM
roadhammer1971
2nd Gen Ram Tech
16
07-07-2015 12:12 PM
tbugden
1st Gen Dakota
6
07-05-2015 11:39 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send