Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

M.A.F. sensor location

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-07-2010, 10:09 AM
scs65 scs65 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default M.A.F. sensor location

Does my '03 2500 with the 5.7 have a MAF sensor, And if so, where is it located? I've removed the hose connecting the air filter to the air box and the air box itself. I can see the throttle plate but no flow sensor. What am I missing?
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2010, 10:16 AM
dirtydog's Avatar
dirtydog dirtydog is offline
Moderate User
2008 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Vehicle: 2008 Ram QC 4x4 BigHorn
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 10,773
Send a message via Yahoo to dirtydog
Default

Why are you looking for a MAF to begin with?
Something that isn't there isn't causing any problems....lol
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2010, 10:33 AM
Horseapples's Avatar
Horseapples Horseapples is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Vehicle: 04' HEMI 2 door SWB
Location: Shreveport Louisiana
Posts: 2,005
Default

there is not one on the Dodges
__________________
Passin gas and haulin' ***!
Member: Over the Top Group
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2010, 02:17 PM
scs65 scs65 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default

I guess that 'splains it! New to Dodge Rams and was chasing a poor fuel mileage problem. Replaced the O2 sensors (which were NOT giving a trouble code). Now the upstream sensor is causing a p0132 code. Tested the old sensor with the propane torch and digital volt meter - wasn't working. I'm thinking the new sensor is probably okay - I did remove it and test it like the old one. It did put out in excess of .9 volts when heated. Thinking something else is causing the fuel mixture to go rich. suggestins? We now know its not the MAF ...................

Last edited by scs65; 03-07-2010 at 02:20 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2010, 06:05 PM
Horseapples's Avatar
Horseapples Horseapples is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Vehicle: 04' HEMI 2 door SWB
Location: Shreveport Louisiana
Posts: 2,005
Default

check the inlet air sensor, it is located in the air intake, could be due a tune up as well. If you sre getting 14mpg or so combined, it is doing pretty well, depending on how you drive
__________________
Passin gas and haulin' ***!
Member: Over the Top Group
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2010, 06:27 PM
lxman1's Avatar
lxman1 lxman1 is offline
Multi-Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
2008 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2008 QC Ram BigHorn Hemi
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 8,994
Send a message via AIM to lxman1
Default

Yep, unfortunately, Dodge hasn't gotten modern and use a MAF sensor instead of the outdated speed density set-up which isn't as mod friendly.
__________________
2008 RAM 1500 Sunburst Orange BigHorn. 5.7L HEMI
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 06:27 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2