proper way to reset TPS and computer on 2008 - DodgeForum.com


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

proper way to reset TPS and computer on 2008

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 06-10-2010, 10:24 PM
I DRIVE A HEMI RAM DAMNIT!
I DRIVE A HEMI RAM DAMNIT! is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pa
Posts: 93
Default proper way to reset TPS and computer on 2008

I went to the dealer the other day about some parts and was talkin to the service man and the subject came up that I cant peel in my truck..it has 3.92(bought truck used and thats what the build sheet says...). I have my AirAid MIT and cortex performance tune installed and my truck has a flowmaster SI/SO exhast... It just has an extreme lack of performance in my opinion. Had the compression checked at 30k with a plug change. The service man said I should be able to. That leads me to maybe the TPS or AIT sensor isnt working properly. He suggested maybe a new EGR valve... but wouldnt these throw a CEL? Either that or the tranny isnt all that great but it doesnt seem to slip. Whats the proper way to reset the comp and tps?I know unhook the negative battery terminal and turn on the lights,but is that it? SHould I do one right after the other?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2010, 02:25 AM
coppertable8's Avatar
coppertable8
coppertable8 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: washington pa
Posts: 21
Default

Just unhook the pos. terminal and hook it to the neg. for a few mins and they will reset. It drains all the stored power for the memery.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2010, 07:23 AM
TRXHemi's Avatar
TRXHemi
TRXHemi is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Damon, TEXAS!
Posts: 1,676
Default

Or, if you have some time, disconnect the neg terminal and wait at least 20 minutes. Then reconnect of course! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2010, 11:15 AM
cwboyjohnny24's Avatar
cwboyjohnny24
cwboyjohnny24 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 1,886
Default

You can also reset it by looking in the fuse box and pulling the pcm fuse. Then go in the truck and turn the key to the acc then off position a few times. I prefer this way as it doesn't erase any of my stereo presets, etc. Then it's another 30 minutes getting it back the way I want it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2010, 11:45 AM
Deviate's Avatar
Deviate
Deviate is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 150
Default

^^ What he said. Less work all the way around to do it this way.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2010, 05:24 PM
I DRIVE A HEMI RAM DAMNIT!
I DRIVE A HEMI RAM DAMNIT! is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pa
Posts: 93
Default

Ok,should I unload the performance tune first then do the reset? Also..what about the tps or will it do that too? My truck seems to have a little more get up when its warmer out,like 70..if thats possible somehow...?
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
m0rb02
Dodge Caravan
2
04-19-2016 04:06 PM
BF204
Dodge Caravan
1
08-11-2015 08:27 PM
Jessejamesny
3rd Gen Ram Tech
1
08-09-2015 11:27 PM
o2pilot
Dodge Caravan
4
08-01-2015 05:30 PM
johncrawford1
Dodge/Ram Diesel
0
07-14-2015 11:08 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send