Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2004 Dodge 2500 Ram FCM, Fuse Block & Headlight Problem

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-18-2010, 07:18 PM
k5avj k5avj is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Default 2004 Dodge 2500 Ram FCM, Fuse Block & Headlight Problem

I've got a 2004 Dodge Diesel 2500 Ram & recently I had low beam go out on my driver side headlight. Certainly this can't be too hard to fix...just replace the headlight. WRONG! Replacing the headlight did not fix the problem.

I took a digital voltmeter & ck'd the bulb socket on hi & lo beam & I had voltage but still the headlight only worked on hi-beam & I continued to get an warning message on the dash. Even though I do have voltage, the fuse block/front control module (FCM) is not allowing any power to flow thru to the headlamp on the lo-setting.

I guess the next step is to 1) lift negative battery leads & 2) pull the fuse block to exam for corrosion & 3) pull connectors from the FCM & 4) replug to see if I can revive the system.

Any suggestions?
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2010, 07:32 PM
Big_Wheel's Avatar
Big_Wheel Big_Wheel is offline
Veteran
2004 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Vehicle: 2004 dodge ram 1500, HEMI, Q/C SLT
Location: edmonton, a.b
Posts: 480
Default

did you check for a ground? if you said you checked for power on both the hi and low beam and had power... then the fuse block/ front control module is letting power through to the headlamp on the low setting.
Check for a ground and then go from there.. you could always make a jumper and see if your light bulb iluminates too
__________________
2004 Ram 1500 Q/C 5.7 HEMI. superchip, 2.5" supermaxx adjustable keys, 2" blocks, 3" body lift. Rear bilstien 5001 shocks- 0-4" lift.
Homebrew CAI with a K&N filter
2004 Durango Limited with 5.7, stock.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2010, 07:41 AM
k5avj k5avj is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Default

Just to clarify....although I measured voltage at the socket on Hi & LO beam settings, I'm sure my digital voltmeter which its high impedance input is not putting enough load on the circuit. Since the headlight does not work on low beam & I've switched bulbs & I have lamp warning on my dash, I'm betting that the FCM is limiting current to the headlight for some reason. A low impedance voltmeter (a cheap analog meter) would have been more telling. Well, today I'm going to pull the fuse block/FCM assembly & do some tweaking, twisting, flexing, etc. & see if I bring about any changes. I guess I could open up the FCM (with a can opener?) and see if any components have "leaked out their smoke."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:21 AM
Big_Wheel's Avatar
Big_Wheel Big_Wheel is offline
Veteran
2004 Dodge Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Vehicle: 2004 dodge ram 1500, HEMI, Q/C SLT
Location: edmonton, a.b
Posts: 480
Default

when u check voltage with a multimeter your not putting a load on the circuit? thats when you check continuity..... do a contuniuty check from the ground wire to a body ground..
__________________
2004 Ram 1500 Q/C 5.7 HEMI. superchip, 2.5" supermaxx adjustable keys, 2" blocks, 3" body lift. Rear bilstien 5001 shocks- 0-4" lift.
Homebrew CAI with a K&N filter
2004 Durango Limited with 5.7, stock.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2010, 06:24 PM
Djebba Djebba is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default

k5avj,
Did you ever figure out what was causing your problem? My truck is doing the exact same thing now. Thanks!

-Dean
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2010, 12:13 AM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe weedahoe is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 04 Dodge Ram QC
Location: South GA
Posts: 18,730
TrickedOut DodgeRam Weedahoe1977
Send a message via AIM to weedahoe Send a message via MSN to weedahoe Send a message via Yahoo to weedahoe
Default

From all of the threads I have read, it is almost always the PDC that is the issue. I know a few guys who have had to replace the entire PDC to get thier lights back working.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2010, 01:31 PM
k5avj k5avj is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Default

I lifted the negative leads from the batteries & then pulled the fuse block (power distr center) and unplugged the front control module(FCM) and then reconnected everything & the alarm went away the lo-beam headlight worked again.....for about 4 weeks. Now, the problem has reappeared. I'm going to order a replacement FCM & see if that fixes the problem
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2011, 10:25 PM
CoachGary CoachGary is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default Yep, it was the PDC.

I have a 2004 Dodge 1500 Hemi, and I had the same problem with the drivers side low beam not working, but both Hi-beams worked just fine.

Took it to the dealer and paid to have him trouble shoot it....after $95.00, he said the PDC was bad, and it woud be about $500.00 to order a new one and install it.

Woah....nellie....

I went to the wrecking yard, got a PDC with the computer module for $175.00, and installed it....Voila....problem fixed.

BTW, I was asked by the dealer if I had "Washed" my Engine....yep, sure did....and it did start doing this, right after that....hmmmmmm

Last edited by CoachGary; 03-29-2011 at 10:27 PM.. Reason: Add one more thing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-08-2013, 03:41 PM
W0rLDWaR4 W0rLDWaR4 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

What's the PDC?

My truck has the same issue. I know of the fcm but just saw this thread about the PDC.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-2013, 04:21 PM
weedahoe's Avatar
weedahoe weedahoe is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 04 Dodge Ram QC
Location: South GA
Posts: 18,730
TrickedOut DodgeRam Weedahoe1977
Send a message via AIM to weedahoe Send a message via MSN to weedahoe Send a message via Yahoo to weedahoe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by W0rLDWaR4 View Post
What's the PDC?

My truck has the same issue. I know of the fcm but just saw this thread about the PDC.

Thanks in advance.
Power Distribution Control AKA Fuse Box
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:21 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails