3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

08 ram 4.7 red lightening bolt when hitting bumps

Old 07-08-2022, 08:13 PM
jmeatm
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs down 08 ram 4.7 red lightening bolt when hitting bumps

I'm brand new to any forum. I have an 08 ram single cab 2wd 4.7 auto 148k miles. When I drive down the road and hit a bump the red "lightening bolt" light in the dash comes on, the truck either dies or goes into low power mode. I put it in neutral, cut the key off and crank it right back up and no issues until I hit another bump. (yes I know if I didn't bumps it wouldn't happen ) No engine light or codes. I have searched high and low on all platforms. Have seen many with this problem but no one has ever posted how to fix it or what they found. I have changed: alternator, cam sensor, crank sensor, O2 sensors. I have replace all the ground cables from the battery to the frame and block. I cleaned the throttle body. I have checked all the grounds I can find, all seem good. I cleaned battery terminals. I checked all under hood wiring and all seems solid. I have checked all the connections behind the fuse panel and checked the plugs to the ECM. I even used a dead blow hammer and bumped around on all the components while sitting at an idle. Got nothing!

Please help!!!! Any and all advice/wisdom will be appreciated.

Old 07-10-2022, 11:51 PM
jmeatm
Default I gave up!

Originally Posted by jmeatm