2 Errors, running rough, no power on 4.7l 2006 Dodge Ram - DodgeForum.com


3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2 Errors, running rough, no power on 4.7l 2006 Dodge Ram

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:33 PM
JayDee240
JayDee240 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 50
Default 2 Errors, running rough, no power on 4.7l 2006 Dodge Ram

I just bought this truck. I took a gamble when I bought it. It was sold as-is,runs and drives, no further information. '06 4x4 quad cab long bed for $4800, I took my chances... Anyway, the engine (4.7L V8) sounds smooth, no knocking or tapping, maybe a slight miss, but really it sounds good. I put it in Drive, and can barely move on a flat surface. Speeds top out at about 5mph. The truck has no ***** at all. And I hear a very loud hissing sound when I try to accelerate, but I cannot visually see a vacuum leak anywhere. I get 2 Errors P0068(MAS and TPS sensor) and P0113(Intake Air Temperature Sensor). My scanner won't read the codes, it can't connect for some reason, I read these by the "triple key turn" technique. The truck was sitting for a few months before I bought it. It literally has only been in my driveway for 3 hours so I did not look it over completely yet. I just want to know if these 2 errors would cause the truck to run like this?

Also, In neutral, I can't rev the engine. It bounces between like 1500-2500RPM if I hold the gas all the way down. Is that maybe a safety feature or something? Other than this one, the newest truck I've ever owned was a '97 so I don't know the electronics on these newer ones yet.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:51 PM
Owensue
Owensue is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 474
Default

There is a rev limiter for P&N and each gear.

You can removeband try to clean the IAT it should be a bright blue color, be gentle with it and don't use anything too harsh to clean it. I used wd40 on mine, it cleaned up nice.

I would begin by removing the air box and remove and clean the throttle body ( again watch what you use) that will give you better visibility to see where a vacuum leak may be. You can clean the tps with the throttle body out also, you can also just try resetting the tps. Turn key to On( don't start it ) wit for all the dinging to stop press the gas pedal to the floor and then to rest position smoothly. Turn key to off. Try and start it and see if it's any better.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2011, 09:49 PM
JayDee240
JayDee240 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 50
Default

I cleaned the sensors and throttle body with WD40. Everything cleaned up very nice. I put everything back together and reset the TPS. No changes. The truck still idles very rough and will barely move. Still alot of hissing, and I checked everywhere that I could while the truck was running and I can't locate the hissing. I can hear it better from under the truck, I think it's on the backside of the engine, but it's dark now, it will have to wait until tomorrow.

I started it a few times, it seems that it likes to backfire when it first starts up, and it will run for 1-3 seconds after I turn the key off until it stumbles and stutters off. Is that another symptom of the engine codes that I'm getting?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2011, 11:39 PM
MikeHTally's Avatar
MikeHTally
MikeHTally is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N. Florida
Posts: 4,663
Default

Clean the TB and sensors with brake cleaner, not oil. Sounds like it has some tranny issues. The hissing may be coming from the evaporative emissions canister. Kinda sounds like the plug wires are out of place, but I believe there aren't any. Wonder if it's possible for the coil packs to be connected to the wrong cylinders?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2011, 02:04 AM
bandroidx's Avatar
bandroidx
bandroidx is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 79
Default

I had tons of problems in gm a few years back, TPS sensor could be your problem, i hope its easier to replace in this truck than it was in my 1990 grand prix, it was on the back of the block, had to get way up in a tight spot to get it in w/ no view at all. (unless I could have pulled the engine)

Did you replace the throttle position sensor yet?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2011, 07:24 AM
JayDee240
JayDee240 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 50
Default

It's very possible that the coil packs are on the wrong cylinders, but wouldn't that give me a different engine code? I think I should have random misfires if they are messed up.

I checked the ohms on the TPS and they seemed fine but I'll try replacing it anyway since I have an extra one.

Another thought, my scanner can't connect to the PCM, any chance the PCM is bad and it's not reading the sensors at all?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2011, 10:26 AM
Owensue
Owensue is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 474
Default

Another thought, my scanner can't connect to the PCM, any chance the PCM is bad and it's not reading the sensors at all?

You probably need an adapter cable for your scanner, dodge did not follow the wiring standard.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-10-2011, 11:11 AM
SeanW727
SeanW727 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 202
Default

Coil packs can go on any cylinder. And the wires that connect to them should be labled and positioned to each cylinder. 1357 2468 etc. You would be getting a misfire code if one of these wasnt working properly (most of the time)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2011, 06:58 PM
SeanW727
SeanW727 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 202
Default

Another thing to check.... Did you check to make sure the transmission has fluid in it? I've seen vehicles with next to no transmission fluid that would rev up, and when the torque convertor finally caught, the vehicle would move for a split second at about 5 mph.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2011, 07:49 PM
JayDee240
JayDee240 is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 50
Default

Tranny fluid is at the right level, although there is a delay before it goes into gear, maybe the filter needs changed? TPS has weird resistance between the 2 outer pins, one is ground, on a new pin its like 7 ohms, old one is 2 ohms. I drove it in my yard and got a new error of P0123 (Throttle Position Sensor High Voltage). I put a new TPS in and now it no longer idles rough, but still not a drop of power. I have the battery disconnected now, hopefully that will clear my codes and maybe give me a new one to work with.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
95Ram2500v10
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
02-01-2016 12:09 AM
PX
3rd Gen Ram Tech
9
07-19-2015 06:46 PM
Big Blue 01
2nd Gen Dakota
5
07-08-2015 04:55 PM
500e
Dodge Charger
0
07-05-2015 11:20 AM
janicedauw
Dodge Caravan
1
07-04-2015 08:12 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send